We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Taste of Luxury”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The historic Langham Huntington Hotel has the amenities one would expect in a deluxe hotel, but with exceptionally grand (yet inviting) public spaces and gracious grounds not usually found in urban settings.The service was impeccable without being stuffy—even better than in its previous incarnation as a Ritz-Carlton.The proximity to the Huntington LIbrary and Gardens is a major draw.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms in the main historic building, with views overlooking the great lawn. Rooms (not sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cati2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    398
    118
    80
    56
See reviews for
478
544
79
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family in the area during Christmas.

This historic hotel has beautiful grounds, lovely rooms and friendly staff. We weren't able to enjoy all the amenities, but had a wonderful stay. We also enjoyed the lobby bar- a great spot to get a cocktail.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank golden_gate_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Formerly Ritz Carlton, the Langham-Huntington retains the same standards of luxury. I suppose this is the best choice in Pasadena. The imposing hotel and its lush grounds -there's also a Japanese garden- are not exactly in South Pasadena, but at the border with San Marino, a beautiful residential area, an enclave of tranquillity. I went running every afternoon and enjoyed the leafy surroundings, with gorgeous houses and well manicured gardens + felt completely safe. The hotel staff kindly gave me a map with two different trails to follow. The hotel is built around a charming courtyard, and has grand hallways with elegant chandeliers. My room was in a wing of the main building, and I'm glad I didn't choose to stay in the Lanai building since it's too close to the pool, and the architecture is somehow a bit less appealing. I had a corner room and a great view of the immense front loan and the green surroundings. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was quite plain, the decor traditional yet totally up-to-date. Room service was quick and good. There are a few dining options, in different restaurants, all inside the huge main building, There' s even a very British afternoon tea served at The Lobby Lounge with scones and jam, or a chocolate tea with champagne. I particularly enjoyed having breakfast at The Terrace, with a great choice of newspapers and food - breakfast is either a-la-carte or buffet-style, but you might have to queue for the buffet. The hotel courtesy car took me to the nearby macy's and then I decided to walk, it was a pleasant stroll back to the hotel - did I mention that the surroundings and the grounds are gorgeous?!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here over the holiday break and it was what you'd expect from a first-rate hotel. The room was a good size, with six windows, nicely appointed and quiet. The bed was comfortable, all the amenities were in place, and everything was clean and well-kept. The views of the city were great at night and the grounds were beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just like its surrounding Pasadena and San Marino, the hotel is stylish without being pretentious. It oozes class. We stayed at the old tower, in a room with horseshoe garden view, it feels la bit like staying in the Huntington Garden in the bygone days. We normally stay at the Marriott as we are platinum members of thier loyalty program, but starting from now whenever we visit Pasadena or Huntington Library and garden, we shall stay at Langham.

Room Tip: choose room facing horseshoe garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This review is long overdue... Stayed here in June of 2009 for the night of our wedding (after we got married). We arrived to the hotel at about 1130PM in a tux and wedding gown. Our luggage was whisked away by the bellman and we checked in. We were shown to our room which was very nicely appointed. Chocolate strawberries were set out and warm champagne... Guess they put it out too early?

We sat for a few minutes and really just wanted to shower, it was an exhausting day. I called for the luggage and they said it would be right up. 10 minutes go by and no luggage. I call again, they apologize and state its coming right now. 15 minutes go by and nothing. Its now midnight and we are a bit upset. I go down to the front desk and ask for our luggage to which they state they will have to find it. I asked why and explained that they stated it was on its way to the room. They apologize and state its been a very busy night. I explained that this was our wedding night and we might deserve just a little respect and efficiency. After a few minutes they handed me the luggage and I carried it to my room by myself.

The hotel was filled with loud parties (which is to be expected I guess). The grounds are beautiful, room was nice. Breakfast came at a price. The feel from the staff was very snobby though. We are not rich and were lucky to be here, seems as though our status didn't relate to the staff and we didn't matter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimisis303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel!
Large, fluffy bath towels and bathrobes. Bath amenities nicely presented. Luxurious, soft linens and big pillows. Very comfortable bed and spacious, warmly decorated room. Beautiful grounds. Friendly and helpful staff.
It was what we expected from a 5 star hotel, and the price was fair.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ninodebalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,155 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Property: The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing