We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Rooms are comfortable. Staff is helpful. Worth every penny. I would recommend this to anybody staying in the area. Restaurants are good, nice pool and a valet service. Nice!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bone143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is about our 11th stay at The Langham, we our regular guest belonging to the 1865 club (receiving extra amenities) we like the property and the feel of the Hotel and have overlooked baggage being brought up to our room late, or requested newspaper not being delivered, small things like that. But when we(our family of five), arrived to check in to celebrate Fathers Day Saturday at 1:30 (we are 1865 club members and should have been able to check in early), it was a disaster to say the least. Guest Services manager Taryn Wolfe told us our rooms were not ready and connecting rooms are never guaranteed and asked if we wanted to check in rooms that were not connected. First of all we have never been told from reservations (Cheri or Mel) that the connecting rooms we have requested the past four times we booked connecting rooms were not guaranteed and if we would have been told this before we would not have booked the rooms at all because we have an 18 year old son with Down-Syndrome and a 16 year old son and 9 year old daughter that need to be supervised and the connecting room is quite fitting. We would never put our children in another room even if it was next door without being connected. Ms.Wolfe told us our room would be ready shorty so we sat by the fountain with our bags for 1 hour and 45 minutes before they called us. I noticed a wedding party at the hotel as we were sitting by the fountain and have noticed many wedding parties in the past as this is a beautiful hotel to have a wedding and I cannot help but wonder if the locals are priority at this property. When we finally checked into our room at 4:15 (regular check in time is 4:00) the room card key didn't work on our first room but did on the connecting room. My husband called the front desk to report the problem with the key and also that the roll-away bed had not been set up and was told by Ms. Wolfe that it would be set up as we waited and welcome water,fruit and dessert items were not in the room either (not first time they missed this). Front desk said they would send someone right up to bring keys that worked on first room but never did and roll away did come 90 minutes later. Also when I took a shower later that evening there was empty shampoo and conditioner containers in bathroom and I went to connecting to borrow those.
We have made great memories at the Langham in the past and have spent quality time and spent quite a bit money doing it and have made The Langham a great get-a-way trip in our lives with our family and friends. How disappointing it was on this last visit and especially because we were celebrating Father's Day and wanted it to be special for my husband. We certainly will not be returning with our family because of the statement Ms.Wolfe made about connecting rooms not be guaranteed and I'm not sure we will be returning as a couple or not. To be fair Ms. Wolfe did give us two $45.00 vouchers to spend at The Langham for our inconvenience but it didn't make up for the disappointment.

Room Tip: All the Lanai rooms are great but the pool is right next to them and loud with families and children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makelahrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Blairola,
Thank you for your feedback and we truly apologize for any confusion and delay during your check-in process. If you request connecting rooms at the time of reservation, we can guarantee them and pre-block them in our reservations system but unfortunately we cannot guarantee connecting rooms at time of check-in, due to varying business levels and demand.

We apologize that your family was not able to check-in to the hotel early, and that your welcome amenities and rollaway bed were not in your room prior to your arrival. We take our service very seriously, and when issues arise such as these we address them with our entire team so they will not happen again in the future.

The Langham values all of its guests equally, whether they are staying overnight or joining us for dining or spa reservations. We hope you will join us again so we can have a chance to demonstrate our regularly high levels of service.

We truly thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Due to a conference in downtown LA, I had to look further afield for a hotel. What an absolutely delightful surprise to come across the langham. It's like a top notch Asian hotel (which is not surprising as it is asian owned) in Pasadena. Fabulous rooms, great staff, couldn't recommend it more.

Only complaints would be that the spa isn't up to scratch and I would like to see more in-hotel shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in. Room was very comfortable with a lovely garden view. Everything was wonderful but I wish 1) they had a self parking option rather than only valet and 2) that there were more restaurant options within walking distance. The hotel is in the middle of a residential neighborhood so you have to either eat in the hotel or drive somewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Langham is located in a wealthy residential area of Pasadena, a little island away from the hustling and bustling of the city (about 25 minutes, but more if traffic). It is a grand old hotel and the main facilities have been renovated and are spotless. We had a room in the cottages, and these are not renovated and show a bit of wear and tear, but it is amply compensated by the quiet , the beautiful view of the grounds and the spaciousness of the room. There was even a functioning gas fireplace. Service was excellent and the newly updated restaurant was exquisite. Overall staying at the hotel was a vacation in itself and we could have lounged at the beautiful pool, jogged the manicured extensive garden and exercised at the SPA for a long time, but the shuttle downtown Pasadena was also very convenient. Really a beautiful place for the price.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and space, stay at the cottages, but pick one on the second floor and with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Langham Huntington Pasadena is one of our favorite hotels. The staff and the facilities never disappoint and are truly exceptional. The Langham Club provides a level of service and attention to detail that we enjoy each time we visit the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerald_Froschauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is top notch in terms of its grounds, service, and cleanliness. The value for the money is great, but the hotel does not give you any perks beyond what you pay for. We went as a first time guest, and even though the hotel was pretty much empty, they did not throw us a bone (upgrade, spa discount, complimentary valet, etc...) Comparing this to the Ritz Carlton,or even the Four Seasons, the management does not "invest" in your future visit, or try to appeal to you. They feel that the hotel stands on its own. We did not try any meals or spa services. I may have, if they made me feel more special. Having said that, it is a really nice hotel and the rate we paid was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mohsenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,192 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
840 reviews
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $218 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing