We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inefficient to say the least”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have two major problems with this "luxury" hotel. First, we stopped there for one night as part of a longer trip. Our car was loaded with our belongings and gifts for our family. Valet insisted that we could not park our own car. We were reluctant to hand over the keys to our car, given that we had so many things in there and it was inpractical for us to totally unload it. A plea to the General Manager, Mohammed, resulted in them "letting" us park our own car in their spa area and lugging our baggage ourselves.

Second, when we checked out we paid our bill in full. It is now three weeks later and they still have a pending authorization on our card that exceeds the amount we actually spent. A call to their front desk resulted in no answers. I finally had to call the bank today to get them to call the hotel so we could get the charge released.

I used to stay here a lot for business before Langham took over and it was a fabulous property.

Langham thinks they run a luxury resort? Hardly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Suzwats,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. It is Hotel policy that overnight guests must utilize valet parking. This policy is in place due to the amount of space available in the parking structure and for the overall safety and security of our guests’ vehicles. The parking policy is clearly stated in the confirmation letter that our guests receive after booking their guestroom and it is also on the hotel’s website.

We truly apologize for the delay with your billing issues. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to provide you with true legendary service.

Sincerely,
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is really not up to its claimed 5 stars. If its layout isn't bad enough, once you finally find your room with the small map they give you to get there, you will be pleased... because you found it!!!. Room is comfortable though not up to standard for a 5 star. Ordered breakfast for an early start and didn't have time to eat is because it was so late and I had to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear SebmSydney,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you had a difficult time finding your room. The property is set on 23 acres and while the majority of our rooms are in the main building, we have a separate Lanai building across the pool and eight unique cottages situated throughout the grounds. Our front desk team and colleagues passing through the hotel are always happy to walk you to your room in case you have any difficulties reading the map provided.

We also deeply apologize for the delivery delay for your room service order. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate our usual legendary service.

Sincerely,
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a great old hotel with a lot of history. Once the Ritz Carlton. It is just the place to stay in Pasadena. I had a King bed room it was nice and comfortable. If you live in Los Angeles great place for a weekend get away.

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks out at the Horseshoe Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecolonel1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

So we were part of a wedding, must say we had great rates the deluxe room, wasn't so deluxe. We were in room 219 ( beware of 219 ). We had lots of windows and light and an exceptional view of the wall of the parking lot and the loading dock, which was constantly busy. We heard knocking at our door, and every time we went to answer it, ( the first few times only) no one was there? Why you ask, because, we were next to the service room, and every time they closed the door our door rattled like someone was knocking, then anytime anyone entered a room in our hall it created some sort of vacuum, that caused it to rattle. It was bright, but damp and drafty, with an unmistakable odor of something rotting. I opened a window only to determine they it was coming from outside.. We were lounging before the wedding and decided to get a something from room service, we actually had a few minor room service problems with our breakfast, but it's a big hotel, which is no excuse. Ordered two salads and two soups, a soda and a glass with ice, seemed simple enough right. Order arrived minus one soup and the other was ice cold. Well he went back to get the soup that was forgotten, and I had to call down to room service to ask them to send up a hot French onion soup. The soup arrived 30 minutes later, uh the missing soup, the other soup did not come, I called downstairs, 30 minutes later it finally arrived, it was warm, but not hot. we felt sorry for the room service delivery guy, I called down, a supervisor answered, her response we are not going to charge you, my response, it's soup and salad, how can it be so wrong for so long.
Place was crazy busy, all of the staff are great. Things just seemed to go wrong. The property is lovely, but stay away from 219

Room Tip: Not this room 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear AARDVARKKILLER,

We apologize for the room service issues you experienced during your stay. We typically pride ourselves on prompt delivery and exceptional service levels for our in-room dining and all of our outlets at the hotel. There was, unfortunately, a miscommunication between the service staff and the kitchen regarding your order on this occasion, and we do apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for alerting the management team to this issue so they were able to resolve it to your satisfaction upon check-out. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future so we can have the opportunity to demonstrate our legendary service.

Sincerely,
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Exquisite, charming, warm, inviting and......Fido-friendly; these words all describe The Langham Huntington, Pasadena. Our room opened up to a cozy patio and expanse of lawns. Walking trails for you and Fido, gardens to meander through all add up to a fabulous experience for both human and canine alike. Be sure to take a stroll across the painted bridge. Built in 1913 and hand painted in 1932, the murals dot the beam areas and are really lovely You expect the sumptuous linens, comfortable surrounds in a five star resort, but what I didn't expect was an in-room doggy menu and....wait for it.........certified canine massage therapists.. Disney's Beverly Hills Chihuahua 3: Viva Fiesta! was filmed here and you can request a doggy amenity to include a plush toy. Very relaxing, and dining al fresco on our patio was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: If traveling with Fido be sure to request the lower level with outdoor patio access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved this hotel! The room was pretty, the beds comfortable,(with a selection of soft to firm pillows), the bar cosy, with good bar food,the building meticulously maintained with gorgeous grounds. If you don't mind being tucked away a little in a beautiful residential area, this is very good value, a really high-end experience. We were with our 22 year old daughter, who didn't want to leave. Convenient to Whole Foods and Old Town for shopping. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Langham Huntington is a grande dame of a traditional hotel that has retained it's elegance and sparkle over the years. Our family of four stayed there for four days over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a marvelous time. The staff was over the top attentive, there is a lovely pool, a koi pond, gardens for children to skip about, and for adults to peacefully read a book in.
The front desk gave us an immediate room upgrade without us even asking (our room had two queen beds and could have fit a ping pong table as well, it was so huge). There were gorgeous, clean marble bathrooms and they did not skimp on any of the things that hotels often skimp on, and get away with. The only small comment is that the valet parking should be included in the room rate.
This hotel is so outstanding, and the service so proper in the (good) old school way, that after four days, we wanted to move right in... enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriaticqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
2.1 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,413 reviews
1.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
829 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $259 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing