We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Langham Pasadena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Langham Pasadena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Big vintage five star hotel. We stayed in one of the cottages overlooking a Japanese style garden. Lovely setting.. Vintage classic furnishings, supurb bed and linens. Floor to ceiling marble in the bathroom, luxorious towels, fireplace but not availbe to use. Waited five minutes for the hot water and the shower had very low pressure. No coffee in the room. Woarkout facility top drawer, highlight of the visit. Outdoor lap pool. Tennis courts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meredith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    362
    102
    68
    46
See reviews for
414
460
73
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent Hotel. Good remembering. Be carefully with valet parking, should be part of room rate, but don´t . Staff so glad. That is really remarkable is the quiet silent environment at night. This mix with the quality of beds could you get in bed forever. Must be a Hotel for business proposal, conferences, forums, conventions, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our 4 day stay. Rooms were large, well appointed and clean. Meals were real good but a little too expensive for what you got. Good value, not great. Overall it is comfortable, clean and ""out of the way". I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

All the old-style luxury and grace of a hotel established for wealthy people in 1800s -- which is indeed the history of this hotel. One encounters old-fashioned courtesy and good manners here. All the staff, including those from whom I sought directions (it is a large property with a large main building, subsidiary buldings and gardens to navigate), were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the staff conveyed by their words and manner that they feel a sense of ownership, that they dont feel they are simply employees performing a function - no small feat for management to have achieved in such a big luxury hotel. So being here felt more like staying in a welcoming, wealthy home away from home, -- as compared to the run of the mill high-end hotel. The prices are on the high side for the value, but this is upscale Pasadena. The spa has very high recommendations but also high prices, so I opted instead for the well-equipped gym and sauna. Food options were limited to fairly traditional fare, and meal prices were not outrageous. The breakfast buffet offered no German multigrain bread or muesli, - but rather provided a wide range of typical American breakfast options for $30. The room service food was good but expensive - food was nicely presented and arrived hot, but with the fees and tip, it cost $37 for a hamburger with fries and ice tea. The hotel web site accurately presents the hotel and its style. The atmosphere is relaxing , away from the hubbub of LA and its freeways, yet only 30 minutes from LAX. In summary, if you want to stay in Pasadena, and can afford low-key luxury with peace and quiet -- this is a good choice.

Room Tip: A room on 5th floor overlooking the Japanese Garden and swimming pool, away from the elevators -- if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a wonderful property, with fabulous personal service, room decor to die for, and meticulously clean. The hotel is quiet and the amenities are great. The staff was friendly and courteous, and had great information. The atmosphere is personal and relaxed. It's a great place for business, pleasure, romance or a quiet off-season getaway. The history of the hotel is wonderfully interesting as well, recommend taking the time to read the guest services information about the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi121077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Langham on a recent trip to LA, after traveling through California. We've stayed in Pasadena previously and the vibe of this area is great, it's scenic and it's still relatively close to downtown (15-20 mins in minimal traffic).

We were looking forward to staying at the Langham & we certainly weren't disappointed with our stay. This is a gorgeous property, set on beautiful grounds. It has plenty of walking trails through the gardens, around the pool etc plus a good spa.

It is rare to find a hotel that really does meet _all_ your expectations, but the Langham managed it. We had a great corner room with good space & great views out over the property and beyond.

The hotel has a fair bit of history behind it (having been around since 1920 or so) & was formerly a Ritz Carlton. You can see the old world glamour throughout the building, yet it also feels modern, is up-to-date & warm.

Service was excellent, in particular Reception & Guest Services. Valet Parking was super-fast and friendly.

We dined at the Terrace Restaurant for Breakfast most days & dinner on one evening. Good food, not overly expensive & great tables outside by the pool.

We had a fair few drinks at The Tap Room on a blisteringly hot day (35+ Degrees Centigrade) & again it was pleasant to be able to sit outside, enjoy the scenery and even talk a bit to the squirrels cheekily hanging around.

Highly recommend staying here if in LA, it's not super central to downtown etc obviously, but the benefits far outweigh any driving you may have to do. And it doesn't matter where you are in LA, you'll be stuck in traffic anyway!

Can't wait to get back here at some point soon & am also keen to check out other Langham properties as well..



  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlastairScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I pulled up to the property I realized that I had stayed there when it was a Ritz and I was pleased to say that it is just as good. I had a great massage (better than the other five I have had at hotels in the last 2 months). The spa is very well-equipped with a nice hot pool and good gym. Our room overlooked the gardens and city lights which was lovely but it was getting a bit tired. We thoroughly enjoyed the Tap bar- sit outside it has a great view. However, it too, needs a decorating upgrade. The dining room Rolf's has been recently renovated and it is quite glamerous. Over all, we had good food eveywhere in the hotel but thought that the room service menu was a bit tight. Just wanted some comfort food and it was all too upscale for a movie night. best part- first morning there we asked a maitenance man how to get to the terrace restaurant for breakfast and he didn't just direct us- he walked us there! The staff all seemed to really like their jobs.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betty-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
1.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.0 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
15.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Property: The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing