We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty in Pasadena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Impressive upon arrival, this hotel only gets better as you make your way through its classic old styled architecture, and beautiful grounds.

We stayed in a grand deluxe room at the end of a wing of the hotel with a commanding southwest exposure through four large windows. The room was a decent size with a blue and gold color pallet. There was a good writing desk in front of a window, and a comfortable lounge chair that could have used an accompanying ottoman. Our only complaint was that there was not a lot of drawer space, which is something that we like to have. The white marble bathroom was large with separate shower and tub, and a rare hotel bathroom window.

The public rooms on the main level of the hotel are very attractive. The small lobby and nearby corridors that surround the center courtyard exude understated elegance. The lobby lounge is comfortable with a county club look. The Tap Room has been remodeled in a more modern style and is a nice place to have a drink. The Terrace restaurant is where breakfast is served and includes an outdoor area overlooking the pool. The food was excellent, and the service pretty good. We did not dine at the upscale restaurant Royce.

In a separate nearby building is the spa and gym. The gym is very nice, has lots of windows, and it offers a pretty good array of equipment that will enable you to get a full workout. The spa locker rooms are well appointed and includes several wet and dry spa options.

The grounds of the hotel, as others have mentioned, are very nice and worth a walk around to explore the different areas and gardens. The neighborhood around the hotel is full of architectural gems, and allowing time for a walk around this area is also recommended. The hotel is less than a ten minute drive from downtown Pasadena which is a very attractive and fun place to spend some time.

The hotel has several beautiful ballrooms, and therefore attracts events and weddings. On the Saturday night of our stay, the hotel was very busy but managed to keep up with the activity, but large events can sometimes spoil a stay at hotels like this. The pool area also can get a little too busy at times.

With grandeur from another era, combined with modern features, and a beautiful setting, a stay here is fun and special.

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe rooms for the view and added windows, may be worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed for three days recently in a Club room on the 7th floor with great views of the gardens. The room and amenities were all first class and service from all the staff we came in contact with was friendly and first rate.
The additional cost for Langham Club access is well worth the expense. The food, drinks and snacks served were varied, nicely presented and delicious. All the staff in the Club Lounge went above and beyond to make the lounge experience first class. Cudos.

Room Tip: Langham Club room with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Huntington was very nice; my wife and I with our 2 year old very much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel and beautiful grounds. I would echo similar comments noted on Trip Advisor regarding the service. Staff could use some extra training.

A few things that disturbed me: (1) We arrived very late, thus the room they placed us in was not the size we had requested. After complaining a bit, they moved us to one of the outside attached suites. Very much appreciated, but we shouldn't have had to complain. (2) The website, which has since been updated, indicated free breakfast. It should have indicated up to $40 per day. We voiced our concern, and the website was clearly updated, as it was previously misleading. (3) We noticed on a few occasions guests were self parking on the side; when we first questioned, the front desk indicated it was for a handicap person. When we questioned the second day, the front desk indicated it was for the managers. When we questioned the third day, the front desk indicated a new policy just came into effect which offered self parking options to guests staying in the suites. 3 days and $75 later. Again, need more staff training. (4) On 3 separate occasions we noticed errors on our bill; the system was not providing us the $40/day credit for breakfast. We also noticed a separate charge to our credit card for breakfast after our departure, again without the credit. Watch your bill.

Overall, we would stay there again, but as suggested above, we would like to see an improvement in staff/service, given the level of this hotel.

Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, and we apologize for the confusion! After looking into the details about your stay, we are happy to clarify some points. You booked our Linger Longer for Less Package, which extends a 10% discount off of our best available rate for a three night stay; 15% off our Best Available Rate for a four night stay; and 15% off our best available rate, plus continental breakfast for two and enhanced bandwidth in-room Internet for a five or more night stay. With this package you can book different room types but you must stay five or more nights to get the complimentary continental breakfast component. This information is clearly indicated on the website.

You booked a Cottage Grand room, which is slightly larger than our standard Deluxe rooms, but happens to have the added luster of being in one of our cottages situated throughout the property. Unfortunately the Cottage Grand room type is not a “suite,” and it is priced appropriately to reflect that. We regret your confusion during the booking process, as we do have many room types. Fortunately, our front desk team was able to upgrade your family from a Grand Room to a Cottage Suite on a complimentary basis, and we are so happy that you enjoyed the suite.

Our complimentary continental breakfast is extended to guests who book the Linger Longer for Less Package for 5 or more nights. According to your reservation details, you booked for three nights and then extended your stay to four nights. Our front desk team was happy to extend you complimentary continental breakfast as a goodwill gesture for the confusion during your check-in process and we do apologize that we were not clear that it was a $40 limit per person. We will add that language to the package details on the website and instruct our front desk team to be more clear about this when informing guests.

Due to limited spaces, the hotel requires every guest to valet park. Rates are $12 for daytime parking and $25 for overnight parking. We do allow our handicapped guests to self-park when necessary, as well our long-term stay guests, who stay with us for two weeks or more. These special circumstances need to be discussed with our sales team prior to arrival. We have re-energized those details with our front desk staff so they will give guests clear information regarding our parking policies. Thank you for alerting us about that opportunity to train our colleagues.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham in the near future.

Best regards,
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Huntington is still one of the nation's great hotels. Sitting in a residential area of Pasadena, with beautiful gardens, a one-of-a-kind picture bridge, original oil paintings, and great views of the San Gabriel Valley, it is a visual masterpiece. My wife and I were married here and visited numerous times when it was owned by Ritz-Carlton. The rooms are large, have good amenities, and great views. Two changes made since the Langham group took over are worth mentioning. Ritz-Carlton used to have "Evening Under the Stars" concerts on holiday weekends (complete with a superb picnic basket dinner) that we would travel half-way across the country to see. Alas, those are no more. Equally aggravating, the service has slipped considerably. The Ritz-Carlton people, true to form, greeted us by name in the hall by the second day of a visit. The Langham people are much less polished. The front desk girls are nice and the concierges are pleasant, but they're nothing more than one would expect at a 5-star hotel. The waiters in the Terrace restaurant were consistently rude. Having just stayed at the Langham Place in Hong Kong six months ago, we know that this is not about Langham; in Hong Kong, the service was outstanding. Some of the people at the Huntington apparently need better training, better compensation, or an attitude adjustment. Personnel aside, however, there are few more beautiful hotels anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Horseshoe Garden and San Gabriel Valley, on a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

As far as value goes, I actually think this is a slam dunk; and if the overall rating were based solely on value, I would give it 5 stars.

However, the attention to detail and only 4 star service is what sets this otherwise beautiful property apart from other hotels it would perhaps consider its competitors.

The GOOD:
The property is gorgeous. The rooms are absolutely comfortable. The Langham Club levels are worth every penny extra you might pay for it. The people in the hotel are very nice and pleasant. Did I mention the Langham Club level provides great extras? I did and I assure you it's worth mentioning again. They have food and drink out for you all day long, and change it up 5 times daily. I was wary to see what "Continental Breakfast" was going to be, but it turned out to be quite spectacular... beautifully displayed assortments of breads, jams, eggs, breakfast meats, and even a couple hot food selections. And it only gets better as the day goes on. Wine, spirits, all available at any time until they close (9pm?)

It's a romantic setting, and the grounds are gorgeous, and, for the third time, the extras on the Langham Club level were great. Also, they offered a Langham Kids Program, which gave our 2 year old a back pack with some crayons, etc and also some S'Mores over a fire at night at 7pm. This was REALLY great.

Now the BAD (well, not 'bad'... just a little disappointing):
The staff was not rude, but they did not seem -- how can I put this constructively -- very well 'trained'... instead of "I'm not sure, but I can find out right away" they instead say "umm.... I don't know... that's a good question... I think no." They manage to hum and haw about certain things long enough that when they do give you a wishy-washy answer, you are not sure you can believe them anyway! (for us, it was "What time do they start S'mores?" and their answer was anything from 6pm to 7pm to 8pm (when you ask different people)... instead of just finding out and telling us one time, I got two voice messages on my phone telling me two different times)

Again, it's not really the biggest deal, but I think when you are on a property as spectacular as this, you expect the service to match.

When we checked in, they did not have a back pack for our son (even though we arranged it ahead of time at the time we made the reservation)... Not a big deal. They said, "We'll send it up to your room right away."

And then I get a call about a couple hours later saying "It's here at the front desk. You have to come pick it up."

Again, the biggest deal in the world? No. I'm an easy going guy. But a true 5 star service hotel would have actually sent it up to the room.

Overall, a very nice experience for our Anniversary.

I would compare the property to that of the Grand Del Mar outside San Diego... but the service at the Grand Del Mar was far far superior. Of course, I believe the Grand Del Mar is also about 20% more expensive.

So Value ... great!
Property... great!
Romance... great!
Kids program.... great!
Staff... not so great. and this, to me, is a fundamental MUST for a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Langham Club level perks... if you will be around during the day or evening to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

When you want to get away, relax, and be totally pampered, look no further than The Langham. My daughter and I traveled for a post-graduation vacation and couldn't have been more pleased. Everyone who works at the hotel is so pleasant and genuinely cares about ensuring a wonderful visit. The hotel is this elegant, well-appointed, welcoming, gracious place to unwind. We spent so much time at the pool and hot-tub unwinding or strolling around the hotel's manicured grounds. The hotel is surrounded by this neighborhood of elegant homes. If you want to travel to a restaurant or nearby attraction, the hotel offers a free shuttle. The outdoor courtyard with its flock of cute ducks is another favorite place to sit and read. Wonderful, wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Lovely, lovely hotel and service. Out of this world! We like it so much that we are going back for Father's Day weekend. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelliMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,190 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
840 reviews
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $214 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing