We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Reviewed March 5, 2004

My wife and I booked through Travelocity, and reconfirmed directly with the Inn by phone 2 days before arrival. The rate was good compared to other lodgings in this location for midweek in March. We did not have a car with us, but used Amtrak and public transport. Arriving early afternoon we requested and were given a relatively quiet room. The location is within walking distance of Old Pasadena and near to the new Del Mar MTA light rail station. We visited Pasadena attractions during the day and LA downtown culture at night. The light rail is clean and convenient and runs late into the night, (after the Opera/LA Phil etc.) The motel is clean. Rooms have microwaves and fridges, ironing boards.
The receptionist is a man of few words, and could be considered unfriendly, however he was efficient. Don't expect too many extras here. I would stay there again primarily due to the location and the value.

6  Thank SanDiegobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 313 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Hemet, CA
14
Reviewed March 3, 2004

I had made a reservation over the phone for myself and 4-5 other people a month in advance. I had called the day before we arrived and confirmed the room and even got a confirmation number. The person on the phone even took my credit card number to insure my rooms. She said there would be no problem with us coming in later in the evening, since we were attending a convention at the near-by convention center.

My party and I arrived at 8:30 p.m. exhausted from the day working the convention. We were totally shocked to hear that there were no rooms available. I had asked for 3 rooms with 2 beds in at least two of the rooms. I was told there was no record of my reservation, but they might be able to give me single room with one bed. What good was that? The man that I spoke to at the desk was rude and refused to even acknowledge he had any information about my reservation, even though I had a confirmation number. He even told me that no made reservations except him and I know I spoke to a woman on the phone both times I called.

Needless to say we all left and went to the Vagabond Inn on Colorado blvd. They were very nice and gave us very good rates for not having any reservations. The rooms were clean and they even gave us a larger room for the larger part of the group to occupy.

I definately do NOT recommend Pasadena Inn to anyone.

Brenda Zimmerlee

    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
414
Reviewed December 1, 2003

The main thing that separates this motel from others that are in the same price range is that it's in the heart of Old Town Pasadena. The others are a few miles to the East, in a seedier area and definetely not within walking distance of all the Pasadena action. The rooms have also been recently renovated (lots of maroon and forest green), we stayed for a week and were extremely comfortable. It felt like home away from home. Our room was super clean, the staff are also really sweet and helpful and consistent. Some of the perks included a fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, and high-tech telephone that takes messages. Also, there's ample free parking both above and below ground.
The staff are charming but eccentric. It's a no-frills place (breakfast consists of coffee and danishes in plastic wrap) but there are lots of sweet cafes in Old Towne... they have a special weekly rate if you're staying longer. I'd definetely recommend it.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City, MO
17
Reviewed October 28, 2003

Upon checkin at the hotel the desk clerk was rude. When reaching the rooms I had reserved on Travelocity they had not been cleaned after the previous user had stayed there. When returning to the front desk to inquire I was told there was no one to service the room. I was out of luck. It was a most unpleasant experience. I did not stay.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2003

Because the price of this hotel was so much cheaper than some of the other major hotels in down-town Pasadena, I was a bit nervous about what the rooms would be like. Its smashed hotel sign (car damage), pink and beige facade (rooms open up to the outdoors) and lobby (tiny and spartan) did little to reassure me. However, one look at our room (#232) and I knew that we had stumbled upon the best deal in town.

Our room was spacious and super clean. Everything in it (furniture, fridge, micro, carpeting, bathroom tile, bathroom fixtures) looked brand new. Room cleanliness is very important to me, so I really looked at the rooms (sheets, floor, fixtures) -- the cleaning staff did a top-notch job.

The only down side I can think of is that the air conditioning unit in our room was a little loud and the telephone couldn't take messages (although the hotel staff was good about passing messages along).

We had stayed at the Quality Inn on Colorado Blvd a year ago and, without a doubt, the Pasadena Inn is a much better place to stay. We will definitely stay here again.

3  Thank KitanaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2002

What a wonderful, reasonably priced little hotel within walking distance to Old Town. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend this motel to anyone. Request the newer side and wait until the construction is over to book your room otherwise you will not be able to sleep late as they start working at 7:30 am!

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisemaus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert R, General Manager at GreenTree Pasadena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.8 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,263 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenTree Pasadena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenTree Pasadena Inn

Address: 400 S Arroyo Pkwy, Pasadena, CA 91105-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range: $146 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — GreenTree Pasadena Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GreenTree Pasadena Inn offers guests a comfortable experience from check-in to check-out, minutes from historic Old Town Pasadena and Convention Center. Enjoy our newly renovated guest rooms, featuring the highly-rated Tuft & Needle mattresses, HDTV with 60+ channels, mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Continental breakfast is included in your stay each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GreenTree Pasadena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasadena Hotel Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing