We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and comfortable.”
Review of Hilton Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Pasadena
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The entire hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was pleasantly clean. The bed lined and towels are fresh and white. The pillows were very comfortable. I recommend this hotel.

Negatives: $18 per night parking fee and $15 per night fee for WiFi in the room. WiFi is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I’m happy to know the cleanliness of the bathroom and the fresh linen gave you a positive impression on the overall cleanliness of our hotel. We take great pride in the hotel’s cleanliness and service and indeed it makes me feel very proud that our guests, like you, noticed it.
Please know the City of Pasadena has no overnight parking, our parking rates are comparable to the other hotels nearby.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Pasadena Hotel.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in Pasadena for an evening and although I liked the area, I was not wowed by the hotel. The hotel was rather average. The people were friendly enough and the rooms were OK, but there was nothing that stood out about this hotel for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit at the Hilton Pasadena Hotel. We value every comment from our guests. While the hotel did not wow you, I feel very proud that you experienced my staff to be very friendly; I will ensure the staff is aware of your kind feedback.
We hope you give us another opportunity to experience our hotel and the amenities we offer and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay at the Hilton Pasadena in January. From check-in to check-out, we were made to feel at home. All of the staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. We loved the location - within walking distance to just about everything we wanted to see/do. I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candascala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Very pleased to read about your great experience while visiting our hotel. I will certainly share your wonderful comments with our staff. We too cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Thank you!

Warm regards,

CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was clean and neat. Unfortunately, it was less than friendly. The check in process was very smooth. I was given a nice (small) room with a balcony. It was clean and nicely kept up. However, when we pulled up front in an expensive and new SUV and indicated to the valet that we would carry our own bags (there was one bag per person), they treated us like dirt. They were rude and made it very clear that they felt that we were some how cheating them out of a tip.
That night, the fire alarm sounded just after I had fallen asleep. It was very loud and I packed up my service animal and rang downstairs to see if it was real. Guest Services answered and said that they weren't sure and put me on hold. After 4 more minutes on hold, I put the phone down (I didn't hang up), and I walked down nine flights of stairs, rather than chance burning up in a hotel fire. The alarm continued to sound until about the time I hit the first floor, service animal in a carrier on one shoulder and computer bag on the other. For an older person with bad knees, that wasn't so fun. I got to the lobby and was greeted by a heap of confusion...especially from the front desk crew. I returned to my room, and found that I was still on hold on the phone. 5 minutes later, the same young woman returned to the line and told me that it was "all clear". Really? 20 minutes later? I would be dead.
The next morning, I asked to speak with the manager, and related my story. The front desk tried to run interference and explained how they could handle my problem, as the manager was quite busy. I persisted. Mr. Thomas Cook, the manager, was extremely abrupt and kept stating that a child had pulled the alarm. I tried to explain that my complaint was in the way it was handled, not the alarm being pulled itself. He was quite short with me and kept reiterating how a child was responsible, refusing to address the hotel problem. He also would not look at me, but over my head. I finally gave up.
Additionally, to my chagrin, I found that another diamond Hilton Honours guest (same level as me) (male) had been given two full breakfast coupons per each of his room. I had been given a single continental breakfast (upgradeable to full for an additional $6) coupon. Talk about treating us differently. Perhaps it was because I had my small rolling suitcase with me when I checked in and declined bellman assistance? The front desk attitude certainly changed then.
I went down to the restaurant to use my coupon, but couldn't get seated, and gave up and visited a coffee shop instead.
Oh, one last thing...the bar is expensive and they pour slightly less than one full jigger. The wine is also a very small pour. Only the soda was a decent deal.
I found the attitude of the manager and many of the staff were extremely snobby. I don't know what makes them so good, but next time I'll stay at the Glendale Hilton and drive. All of the staff are nice and friendly there. And you get a full breakfast, not ignored.

Room Tip: Not sure. The even number rooms on one side of the building have patios, which would be pleasant if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

First and foremost, I truly appreciate your time in commenting about your recent stay with us. Secondly, please know that I meet with my management staff daily and discuss all comments posted by our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience due to the false fire alarm. We review the details that provide opportunities for us to mitigate any situations similar to what you experienced; these are invaluable tools for us.
Lastly, our mission is delivering hospitality, creating value ….every customer, every time. I feel very disappointed that certain associates of my team did not meet that mission. The attitude demonstrated by the staff is certainly unacceptable and have been addressed. I’m glad to hear that at least your check in was smooth and the room was clean and neat.
My staff and I value your comments and we hope you give us another chance to show you our hospitality. Please feel free to personally contact me on your future plans to visit Pasadena. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
csprayberry@hiltonpasadena.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Pasadena for four nights from the 26th of September and it was a very lovely experience.

The hotel was quite small compared to other Hilton hotels I know but the atmosphere was great, the location was excellent and most of all the breakfast buffet was the best.

The gym area area and swimming pool was small but very Cosy and nice.

The customer service ratings was not too great but it was ok

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelici0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always great to hear that you had a very lovely experience, and enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the cozy but great atmosphere.
I ‘m very interested in hearing more about the customer service ratings you mentioned; it would be an opportunity for improvement on our part. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit .

Best regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I checked in on Sunday the 26 August. It is a nice clean and well run Hotel. It is quite smaller than the average Hilton. The rooms are tastefully furnished and mine was on the 14th floor with wonderful views. The staff were courteous and helpful. The food was delicious and well prepared. It is a spacious and airy Hotel and has a great location. There is a complimentary shuttle Bus to Old Town Pasadena and to the local Walgreens if you need it. The hotel is a few blocks from the Metro. I make special mention of Nicolas without the "H"lol. The sweet Ethiopian lady in the breakfast room. I had a wonderful well catered for stay and will be back. I recommend this Hotel very highly. Thank you so much for your kindness and cleanliness. I checked out on the 30th.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sindy10stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I’m very glad to hear our staff was friendly, and that you were pleased with your stay overall.

Your comments are truly appreciated and reviewed during our daily operations meeting. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Pasadena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed at this property many times over the past four years on business and until a recent trip was satisfied. In late July I stayed for two nights and on the plane ride home my legs began to itch. When I got home, I found that I had a few hundred bites concentrated primarily on my legs, but also on my arms, chest and a few on my neck and face. A trip to the Doctor the next day confirmed I had bed bug bites.

I called the hotel to inform them that I was staying in room 603, had bed bug bites and the lady on the phone informed me that they had recent bed bug problems and the General Manager would call me. He did, a few days later, and informed me that they had checked the room and there were no bed bugs and I must have gotten them elsewhere.

Although I travel often, I had not been anywhere in the previous 10 days and the only place possible I could have gotten them was the Pasadena Hilton. I arrived at the hotel with no bites and left with hundreds and upon returning home they healed and I was better in a week or so. When I informed the General Manager of this, he dismissed it and told me I was wrong.

I believe the measure of any service organization is how they respond when something goes wrong. In this case the Hilton Pasadena failed miserably!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

The prevalence of bed bugs in hotels has unfortunately become exponentially common within the U.S. which may have been caused by the increase in travel; experts say the bed bugs can travel in luggage and enter homes and hotels. At the Hilton Pasadena Hotel, we have an aggressive program to attack any signs of the insect that may have been left by guests. In the case of the recent comment, please know we immediately deployed a professional pest control company to inspect the room, fortunately the company found no sign of bed bugs. Thank you for your patronage to Hilton Hotels where we respect and urgently respond to our guests comments.

Best regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.6 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
820 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.4 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#12 of 31 in Pasadena
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pasadena

Address: 168 S Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-2430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#9 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $193 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Hilton Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing