We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bottom of my Hilton List”
Review of Hilton Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Pasadena
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,381 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
“Bottom of my Hilton List”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our family stays at Hiltons whenever we have a choice in hotels. I rank the Hilton Pasadena at the bottom of that list.
The hotel has a good location. It's an easy walk to Old Pasadena and very near El Paseo Mall.
The hotel is very dated with a bland 1960s feel to it. There is nothing special about the architecture. The lobby has tried to update but it too feels dated.
When we checked in the desk clerk was not overly friendly. She was not rude, but she did not seem to welcome us either.
Our room was very small. The room like the rest of the hotel seemed dated. The bathroom also was tiny. Although this was a nonsmoking room, the room did smell like cigarette smoke.
We had a nice view of the San Gabriel Mountains.
Many small things just did not happen here. It took the valets a long time to get the car (even though we gave plenty of time to call down), we asked for extra towels which we never got, our room service order was a half hour late.
The service level is not up to Hilton's standards and the hotel is in need of a large make over. I probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    409
    260
    86
    46
See reviews for
210
202
80
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
434 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here May 2012 for our annual conference ... in the past the conference was held at the Glendale Hilton, so I was concerned with the negative reviews I read of the Pasadena Hilton

Well to be blunt ... I really don't know what Pasadena Hilton those other people stayed at because we have found this hotel to be outstanding! This hotel is well maintained, and is nicely situated. There is plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance of the hotel ... and if you don't feel like walking, just ask one of the staff, and they will arrange transportation for you with one of the Hilton vans.

The staff here goes well above and beyond what you would normally expect ... and that is everyone from cleaning staff to bell staff to valet assistance ... they are truly amazing.

I have to put a special note for our housekeeper - Letty. She is absolutely fantastic and every day we come back to special things she has done to our room so as to make our stay even that more fantastic. I am sending a special note to Carl Sprayberry, General Manager just to let him know how special we find Letty, and to commend the fine staff of this hotel.

Is a hotel always going to make you 100% happy - no, probably not - but I strongly believe the great staff at the Pasadena Hilton goes out of their way to make guests comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked this hotel on very short notice (less than one hour) and got a very low rate using the Hilton Honors reservation service. We didn't even have to ask for discount options; they offered them. The room was very clean and everything was provided. The hotel offers valet parking or self parking. We opted for self parking which was $18 per day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wguhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is my second stay at the Pasadena Hilton. I came here previously for a wedding a year ago and came back for business. This is not a trendy hotel, rather a solid, professional, clean operation. The beds are super comfortable, room decor is nicer and more contemporary than average upscale chain hotels. Front desk check in was pleasant and quick, and wi-fi is free for Hilton Honors members. Desk space is large for working on computer with room for files and notepad also plugs for computers/phone chargers on the desktop lamp. Room service was excellent - crispy hot fries, shrimp caesar was delicious as well. Nice surprise was the Peter Thomas Roth toiletries in the bathroom, a nice touch. Overall would stay here anytime I am in town, great location, free shuttle to Colorado St. shops and restaurants and great prices.

Room Tip: upper floors offer great views of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nicely maintained facility, obviously remodeled since initial construction. Good meeting facilities. Excellent food quality in catered functions. Bedroom suffered from thin walls and adjoining doorway...interruptions at night. Small bathrooms.

Room Tip: Avoid an adjoining room door if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RYGDWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The staff is helpful, attentive and cheerful, which make for an overall good experience. The hotel also has a shaded outdoor space that is very relaxing. The review would be excellent if not for some of the cheapness, and lack of attention to detail that made the room sufficient though not truly pleasant.

The room is fairly cookie-cutter, though not unexpected. The main disappointment was the climate control system, which really made for a noisy, windy night, which ultimately left me feeling less-than-rested. The unit blew directly on the bed, which made it impossible to find a middle ground between shivering and sweating. If you don't mind cold air blowing on you, then you will probably not mind this. But I found it really hard to get comfortable, and made me get up to adjust the controls several times during the night.

Overall, the experience was mostly comfortable, though I would be sure to ask about a room where the A/C unit is far away or points away from the bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is an ideal base for a business or leisure trip to Pasadena.

The hotel itself is a little tired, the fixtures and fittings are not the newest and the aircon units in particular have a distinct retro feel.

Nevertheless, the service throughout is very good and in the upper rooms the view of the sun rising and lighting up the mountains behind the city is impressive.

The price reflects the facilities and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.6 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.4 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#8 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pasadena

Property: Hilton Pasadena
Address: 168 S Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-2430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#9 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Hilton Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing