We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice property, thumbs up, just a couple issues”
Review of Sheraton Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Pasadena
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice property, thumbs up, just a couple issues”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We have traveled the world on business and pleasure, and are discriminating in our tastes.

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, part on SPG points, and part with a special pre-paid Sheraton price that was on their web site. We hoped for an upgrade to the club floor for the continental breakfast and evening snacks, but that did not happen, as they said they were full. The property is in excellent repair and we have no complaints there. Also, it is only a half block from Paseo Colorado (full of shops and restaurants), and a nice supermarket, so we were quite happy with a light breakfast and an evening meal that only required a short walk across the street. The location is definitely a high point. We had considered the Pasadena Westin, but are happy with our choice. While many talk about the location relative to Old Town Pasadena, we were underwhelmed with that district. Very happy with the location of the Sheraton, and it was a great base for visiting the top locations around LA.

Now for some details: Our first room was a King that was directly across from the vending/ice room. We thought that might be noisy, but I put a towel across the bottom of the door, and it was fine. However, the air conditioning unit was very very loud and came on occasionally (it was also over powered, and would come on for just 2 or 3 minutes to lower the temperature by several degrees) and this was a significant negative. It was loud enough to waken most sleepers. The other negative was that there was very little extra room to move about in the room.

While we didn't complain, we did suggest that if there was a better room we would appreciate a change, and they moved us to a jr. suite just a few doors down from the first room. This room had much more space, and being on the north side, did not get hot during the day and did not need the air conditioning unit to turn on. Just lovely for the last 2 days of our trip. I should note that both rooms had a small fridge, and the in-room coffee maker was extremely easy to use, had Starbucks coffee, there were LCD TV's, and outside of the noisy AC in the first room - we would rate this hotel as superior. The King bed was very comfortable, and the pillows (though not down) were also good. This was another big plus. The front desk had a list of restaurants, and they had some suggestions for those of us who have a higher level of taste. We did not use the small pool, as it was still too cold outside.

We would definitely stay here again. (If my wife is happy, I'm happy).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    305
    161
    60
    50
See reviews for
163
154
51
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Second stay in this hotel in 4 months. Did not dissapoint on either occassion. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Nice exercise room and free internet access from the business center. Located one block from the shopping mall and 4 blocks from Old Pasadena. Free shuttle service. Many restaurants to choose from in the area. Parking is $13 per day with in and out privileges.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimokeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We were visiting Pasadena to see some family and see the Huntington Library. We are normally Hilton people however we decided to take a chance with Priceline since it was just for the one night. The service was top notch, gracious and professional. The lobby and rooms nicely decorated. Better than you would expect for a 3.5 star hotel. We didn't have a view but we didn't need one...we didn't come to hang out at the hotel. Starbucks in the room was a nice touch plus the Bliss bathroom amenities. Beds were firm and comfortable with fluffy down pillows. The only complaints we would have is that the sheets are so starchy that they make tons of noise every time you move around, it would have been nice if they were softer. Also, there is a good amount of space underneath the hotel door so you can basically hear any person that goes by and it was annoying when some guests who came late (almost 2 am) were yelling and laughing in the hall. Woke up my 2 kids...that was fun. Other than that, the location is prime and close to everything. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, modernized rooms , polite service
  • Disliked — stiff sheets, being able to hear other guests in the hallway
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Great location and generally nice hotel, but from the start, we could tell that booking through a discount service (Hotwire) made us second class citizens. When we arrived they didn't have the queen bed that we requested and had to settle for two oversized double beds. One of the beds was fine, but the other sagged in the middle- not something you ever expect in a Sheraton. When I pulled the drapes open, I was surprised to see nothing but a blank stucco wall about 8 feet away. You couldn't even see the sky. When I inquired about both of these, the front desk staff discourteously reminded me that we booked through Hotwire. The meaning was pretty clear- what else should I expect? I use Hotwire a lot, and have never had this type of experience with a supposed 3+ star hotel before.

One more gripe- parking fees and meal costs are outrageous!

  • Liked — location in Old Town
  • Disliked — no free internet, crummy view
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AquaNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

just had 6 great nights at this hotel, i was a little worried about what i was going to find here as i had read some bad reviews,but my personal experience was great. the bed was one of the most comfy i,ve slept in the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was also great, the hotel is in walking distance to some lovely shops and there are lots of places to dine. i recommend the cheesecake factory on colorada blvd really good priced and great tasting food, i would stay at this hotel again if i visit pasadena

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bettySouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed here on our wedding night and picked this hotel because of its proximity to our reception place. I was extremely disappointed with the service. We checked in right after our reception we were in our wedding attire, I in my wedding gown. Upon check in, the front desk was very nice and we were told that we'd get a great room. We got there and the room wasn't even ready! There was used soap and no towels. I didn't really mind at the time because I was so happy. A couple minutes later housekeeping knocked on our door to give us clean towels and they told us the room wasn't ready.

I was baffled why they would give us a room that wasn't ready when they specifically told us we would get a nice room. We checked in around 6pm.

The shuttle was very helpful. I had friends who stayed at the Westin and they loved the place.

  • Liked — we didnt spend much time in the room. the bed was nice and comfortable
  • Disliked — that the room wasn't ready.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Although the hotel itself was nice, clean and had everything you could need for comfort - the staff do need some lessons in customer service. I was appalled when I wasn't assisted with my many bags from the taxi to my room. I asked for a trolley or some assistance from the member of staff who seemed to decorate the lobby and was told that wasn't possible. Although she did offer to watch my bags whilst I took half of them up in the elevator and then came back for the rest. Even the taxi driver was amazed!
The breakfast was lovely and the staff in there couldn't do enough for you. I would probably stay there again if there was a special offer as it was clean and comfortable, I'd just ignore the reception staff!!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — unhelpful staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocettesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.2 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.7 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pasadena

Property: Sheraton Pasadena
Address: 303 Cordova St, Pasadena, CA 91101-2426
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the beautiful Sheraton Pasadena Hotel, ideally located within walking distance of the abundant shopping, dining, and entertainment options that Old Town Pasadena is renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing