We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not up to expected Westin standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Pasadena
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent, but not up to expected Westin standard”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This review is relative to expectations as a frequent Westin guest and elite level Starwood member. The positives first. It is a lovely property. The outdoor bar area and 4th floor pool area are excellent areas to relax and meet Westin standards. The hotel ocation is solid too as it is a relatively short walk to a myriad of shops, restaurants and bars.

Now, the disappointments. Three of the four elevators were not in working order on a recent Saturday. If not, for the clerk in the gift shop who told us where the employee/service elevator was located, we'd probably still be waiting :). The charging for wi-fi is a constant irritant, but on this occasion, I simply needed to print out a two page document from the Web, so I attempted to use the "complimentary" computers in the gift shop. Had issues with how slow and antiquated the computers were as they couldn't print the needed document. No worries, I was told there was another computer/printer at other end of lobby floor. Of course, that machine charged by the minute and for printing a couple pieces of paper. Don't get me wrong as I'm not cheap, just annoyed at being nickel and dimed by a supposed higher end property. Last but not least, the room left a bit to be desired. The bathroom was a bit tired and the bed didn't have the textbook Westin comfort.

Overall, a decent, but less than memorable stay. Just didn't feel like this particular Westin has its heart into the little things.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 515travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer me your feedback.

The nature of your comments lead me to believe you were here over the July 4th weekend. Our elevators were tampered with and one of the safety mechanisms were compromised. This cause an ‘alert’ to the parent controls of the elevators causing 1 to trip. The extent of the vandalism was such that it caused the ‘board’ to malfunction and alternately ‘trip’ the other elevators. We had technicians out most of the day on Friday and all day on Saturday trying to resolve the issue as there was never any real danger with the elevators. The fact that it was a holiday weekend and that we were at maximum capacity only exacerbated the issues. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced by this situation.
Our Heavenly Beds© are the same signature mattress as other Westin’s. That is an interesting observation though and I apologize you did not find your mattress as comfortable as previous stays at Westin properties.

I hope that we have another opportunity to show you that we have ‘heart’ and that we care about your business, your comfort, and your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    489
    181
    91
    52
See reviews for
268
345
91
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed. Stayed at many Weston n this by far the worst. Reserved two queen beds n arrive mid day and found that they did not have the room, only a king. Staff was less the agreeable. Rooms just so so except bed, heavenly . Will try some where else next visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Earl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize that we were unable to fulfill you room request for 2 queen beds. We do our very best to accommodate all of our guest’s request and sometimes are not able to please everyone. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, but am more so to lose your future business. I hope that despite your comments you will visit us again next time you are in the Pasadena area for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The staff here really are great, the concierge is fantastic, valet guys quick and easy, shuttle bus is a great addition, but we had a few problems with the front desk.

The hotel itself is great, the rooms are nice, bathrooms clean and sparkling, and the lobby is beautiful. The problem for me occurred at check in. We had a corporate rate, and requested a King bed. No problem, we were told. The front desk guy told us the rate was higher on his screen, but that "we'll sort this all out once the corporate rate is applied!" But after a week stay there, we were told the corporate rate was not given to us because we requested a King bed. Why didn't anyone let us know that? We never would have chosen a king bed had we known. This is poor customer service to me, and a bit deceptive. That was disappointing. Its a shame to lose business to this- we ended up staying at Courtyard and Hilton for the rest of our stays in Pasadena(3 more weeks Westin could have had!)

Other than that, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderCat314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you fo rtaking the time to give me your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the lack of communication, or the actual miscommunication to be exact, from the front desk regarding your rate during your recent stay. I do not know the exact circumstances of your check in experience, but I believe that it had to do with the fact that your were booked into a different class of room than you actually received. If you were offered an upgrade to purchase, then a different rate would apply. If your were upgraded because we didn't have any other rooms in the original category, then the original rate should have been honored. I apologize that your experience caused you to move to the competition, but I hope that you will consider us agina for your business in Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Came hear on family vacation and was traveling through out southern California. The room was nice, they have a rooftop pool on the 4th floor that is really nice. The workout facility is near the pool and has nice view of the mountains.

The restaurant food was really good and we enjoyed a great breakfast. Our server was Guille and she was very friendly, provided great service and ensured we had everything we needed.

The hotel provided shuttle service which we also utilized to see downtown pasadena where they have a lot of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdog469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stay here for 2 nights for a wedding. They have valet, but at a price. There is self parking. Great outdoor area and restaurant. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet for about $22 w/tax. The room I stayed in had 2 queen beds, so there was little space between the bed & the closet. A plus, is the mini frig they have in the room. The bathroom was spacious in size, but probably because it lacked counter space. There is another little corner table in there, but it's not much. There's a magnified mirror and you can also rent workout clothes for $5, in case you forgot them. The gym is huge and gorgeous over looking the church across the street. Their pool is on the 4th floor and is complete with a small bar, jacuzzi, cabanas, and towels. Although I didn't ask for anythig, their booklet in the room has a list of items they can provide for you if you forgot anything back home. It includes the essentials such toothbrush, toothpaste, sewing kit, razor, but also socks, chargers, and nail polish remover.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KYM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSF
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have always believed it's the staff who make all the difference and their true mettle is never tested more than during busy, times:
HERBER was our waiter and GUILLE supported. To me, these are the pillars of customer service any company needs in order to thrive in a competitive market.

I've stayed at this hotel in the past, even under a different name. The location is nice and the rooms are too.

This time, my wife and I came with out 3 and 6 year olds and any parent knows how that can be.

It turns out both are long term pros, with HERBER being a 20+ room service vet who was waiting tables this busy day. Your kind, polite service is appreciated by all - particularly our hungry kids!

SEE YOU AGAIN SOON!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammySaravia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently stayed one night at the Pasadena Westin. The room was pleasing and well appointed. Late that afternoon we had a drink in the bar and our server, Guille was friendly and attentive. We returned there for a nightcap around 11:00 pm and enjoyed sitting outside under the stars around the large and beautiful crushed glass fire pit. The next morning Guille was our server at breakfast and warmly greeted us. We will definitely return to the Pasadena Westin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.7 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#8 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Property: The Westin Pasadena
Address: 191 N Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-1707
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing