We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel while attending a UCLA football game. I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent condition of our room. The furnishings, floor, walls, etc had been recently upgraded. The air conditioning was newer and thus operated quietly. The door opened directly to the outside which I normally do not like but we did not experience much noise from the parking lot. The hotel has a small outdoor pool which we enjoyed. Breakfast was offered in a small room off the hotel lobby. Typical fruit, cereal, rolls, juice, coffee, etc. The area around the hotel seemed safe although I would not go walking around alone late at night. We found a nice Italian restaurant within a few blocks. It was 3 miles down Colorado Blvd to old-town Pasadena and traffic was generally light on the weekend. Parking was inside a well-lit courtyard which I liked. Overall, this was a good experience for a 3-star hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaFanToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    136
    67
    27
    17
See reviews for
140
88
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western three nights. This BW is obviously aging. However, rooms were clean and comfortable, and equipped with coffee makers and mini-fridges. Wi-fi worked fine for us. Our room was very dark, but mostly because we had one of the few rooms that opened to a hallway wall, and not the parking lot. Breakfast is standard for a hotel of this price point (cereal, waffles, toast), and they make it easy to take food back to your room if the breakfast room is crowded. Location is convenient to highways and old town (with restaurants and shopping). We did have problems finding an open parking spot one evening when we came home on the late side. In all, perfectly fine for a short stay with great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makeittso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived after 3pm to find that the suite was not ready. We waited maybe 30 mins in the lobby til we could go into the suite. Patrick was so understanding to the situation. Our suite was outstanding, great flat screen tv where I watched the USA basketball team win the gold the next morning. Bedroom was very comfortable along with the shower in the bath. Pasadena is a marvelous town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoHop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACRAMENTO
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

“Oh My!” I said to myself as I walked pass a first-floor motel room at 6:30 in the morning. The door of the room was open about four inches and there was a middle aged woman, in a maid’s outfit (black apron with a perky little cap), leanings over and dusting the night stand with a feather duster. The “Oh My” was because that was the only cloths she had on and her rear end was pointed at the door towards me.
Later after getting my coffee at the ‘Breakfast Room’ I mentioned it to Ron. “I am not sure if I saw something right downstairs”. He remarked, “Oh you meant about the woman without any cloths on except an apron?” All three mornings we were there, we had to look away from the slightly opened door to the “Maid’s Room”.

Other than the “Oh My” incident, our stay was comfortable. The room was large, well kept, clean, and competitively priced. Everything worked as expected (i.e. Wi-Fi, coffee pot, shower, etc.). All in all there were no complaints, but there really wasn’t much to write home about either (except the Oh My). I would certainly stay there again, but would also check around other motels before committing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValleyPrimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a summer of traveling around the US, I have come to the conclusion that traditionally 'lower end' hotels have figured out something about comfort, service and amenities that the "higher end" luxury hotels have clearly forgotten. This hotel provided outstanding customer service, the EXACT same level of comfort and cleanliness that we experienced at much higher priced hotels, a wide variety of free amenities in a fun, relaxed family atmosphere. Really, when traveling, what more could you ask for? In the same month I stayed twice in high-priced hotels that charged me for internet and had enough 'free' coffee in the room for exactly one person. This hotel (by contrast) offered free internet and a free breakfast. Okay, it wasn't in a fancy buffet hall but a hard-boiled egg is a hard boiled egg. Fruit is fruit. The outside is a bit dated, but the interior had been recently remodeled and was spotless. This is a great place to stay and you won't feel ripped off when you check out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbonesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived well after check-in time, were given a room and when we went to the room it had not been touched from the previous guest. We had to go through the hassle of lugging the bags back to the lobby to get another room. Wi-fi was fine and breakfast was good. Nice lobby area and breakfast room. Also, one night we came back from dinner out and a big yellow rubber glove was on our dresser -- definitely not something we had left there. Rather mysterious.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the afternoon sun, get a room on the south or north side, not the east as we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Room was clean and comfortable. I didn't have a problem with noise, even though I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. Other reviewers complained about the Wi-Fi and they were right, even though the reviews were more than a year old. The staff was helpful and kind. All that said, the Wi-Fi will keep me from staying here again. I will go back to Motel Six, which is also clean and comfortable and for the most part has reliable Wi-Fi. Free isn't free if it doesn't work

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 248LauraO248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
3.2 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
3.7 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale
Address: 3600 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107-3866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#8 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy affordable luxury at the Best Western Pasadena Royale conveniently located minutes away from the Rose Bowl, the Los Angeles Arboretum and the Santa Anita Race Track.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale, a full-service hotel providing the best in customer service and location for an affordable rate. Ideally located minutes away from key Southern California attractions, this Pasadena area hotel also features 62 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each fully equipped with cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Wake up each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast before taking a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub or relaxing in the steam room and sauna. Other hotel amenities include guest laundry, full business services and meeting facilities accommodating up to 50 guests.The BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale is situated along Colorado Boulevard, offering easy access to local shopping and dining. Visit the Santa Anita Racetrack or the Los Angeles Arboretum, both located just two miles away. Families visiting the area will enjoy a quick day trip to Disneyland, Universal Studios or Knotts Berry Farm, all less than an hour's drive away. In town for the Rose Bowl and the Rose Bowl Parade? The BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale is the ideal lodging situated less than six miles from the festivities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pasadena Royale Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing