We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
258
153
34
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
258
153
34
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel great boutique high tech blue bar open bathroom keurig coffee maker rooms are small shower and toilet valet parking remote control modern design rooftop pool large tv parade route complimentary water within walking distance old town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 478 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We really liked this hotel- great public spaces and pool deck, and central location in Pasadena. The staff were also excellent.
My only problem is that our room didn’t have a separate bathroom- bizarrely it’s part of the room so there is no privacy. Of course if you’re sharing a room with someone you should know them fairly well, but even so having a bathroom integral with the bedroom just doesn’t do it for me. Especially given that other guests is our party had ‘traditional’ rooms with separate bathrooms. Given that we had all booked direct on the hotel website, I have no idea why we were allocated a clearly worse room...?
Also, the windows don’t open! We like fresh air and do not appreciate air conditioning (especially when the weather is great) and that’s why we use ‘boutique’ hotels where at the very least you would expect the window to open... not in this case!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank alastaira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario E, Manager at Hotel Constance Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We apologize for the way you felt about the room. As you mentioned we do have rooms with closed bathroom design and if we have these rooms available we would be happy to move you. Next time please mention to the Front Desk team that you would like a closed bathroom design and we will make sure to accommodate your request. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hotel Constance In early May 2019. We had our dog with us.

I did a very detailed review of the hotel from a previous stay so I won't try to cover all that again. You can check my previous review if you want more information.

The rooms are not large but are adequate. There's a nice desk/work area with readily available outlets. WiFi is easy to connect to but the access is a bit slow. One complaint is that they drop you after 24 hours and you have to go through the sign on process again.

We had a king bed which I found to be adequate but my wife found it a bit soft.

The bath is nice - we had a room with a shower, although I understand they have some rooms with tubs.

The staff was uniformly wonderful - friendly, polite and helpful.

They have a table in the area of the front desk and have chocolate chip cookies (my favorite) almost all day long.

All-in-all, a very nice stay and highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario E, Manager at Hotel Constance Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hello Michael! Thank you so much for your amazing review. We appreciate you taking the time to write this kind and detailed review. We are glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

We didn’t hear a thing; not our neighbors, nothing. Room was small but it was a historic boutique hotel. The staff was great! Would go back. We got the room on hotwire. Which meant we were next to the elevator. Very modern. It was a smart room; had a tablet to run the room. Went to the spa. It was a long walk but was worth it. Parking was $19 per day but the city doesn’t allow parking on the street from 2-6am on every street in the city!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank katb250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario E, Manager at Hotel Constance Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

I'm not sure why this is categorized as a 4-star hotel. The room was small and some of the tiles in the bathroom were falling off. However, the worst parts were 1. the bathroom was not a separate room, which means you can smell everything from the toilet in the bedroom, and 2. there aren't any curtains so the morning sun shines in very brightly.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario E, Manager at Hotel Constance Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Hi Liz! Thank you for your feedback. As we are a Historic hotel, our standard rooms are on the small size and some of our rooms have an open concept bathrooms. We also have suites, which are bigger than the standard rooms and different designs. Next time please let the Front Desk know you would prefer a room with a separate bathroom and they would be happy to assist you. Thank you for staying with us and Hope to see you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

My husband and I have stayed at Hotel Constance twice this year. The employees are friendly and service oriented. We stayed in the new wing of the hotel and the room was very large, nicely furnished and clean. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly employee at the front desk. He explained the amenities of the hotel including information regarding the free hotel shuttle to the downtown vicinity, if we should need it later. And, we were offered warm chocolate cookies. The bar was very nice too. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return to the Hotel Constance when we are in Pasadena. The service was great, people friendly and the hotel was clean.
The reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 stars is because it is a small boutique hotel and does not have some of the amenities of a larger resort hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario E, Manager at Hotel Constance Pasadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hello Diane! Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff and all our amenities. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews