We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Careful When Ordering”

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 701 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: De Lacey
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Be Careful When Ordering”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I ordered the Kalbi beef for $8 and was somewhat disappointed to see 4 thin slices of beef. As it wasn't enough, we ordered another. Imagine my surprise to see a $38 charges for 2 orders of bite-sized beef. The server had brought us the premium beef at $18.99 per dish! How would we have known before eating it that we had the wrong order? It wasn't like the beef melted in your mouth - in fact the second order was tough. Oh, we did get 6 pieces on the second order because it took them 20 minutes to bring us the plate of raw meat. What a rip-off!
Other dishes were so-so. Calamari ok, spicy tuna on crunchy rice was the worst - so unappetizing and up appealing and taste lived up to the presentation. Basil chicken wasn't good - especially as a signature dish. Garlic noodles were literally drenched in garlic. Stay away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizzeeMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not just a dinner! but an experience :)”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ended up here on Christmas Eve and it was so much fun!! Truly a great experience. The staff was attentive (even though they were SUPER busy). The food is a bit commercialized but everything tasted good. All in all a really fun and unique way to spend the evening. I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion or fun night out with a group.

The garlic noodles are a must. And also, if you order a courses menu for 2 it can easily feed 3. We added an appetizer and a fish dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTourist37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun = Great Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Upon entering we were greeted by a friendly host, and in Japanese tradition annouced to the restraurant. The table was quite different as there was a round grill in the center not sure what to expect our waiter quickly came over and explained the entire menu after asking us if we were first timers. The food choices were excellent and were served quickly and the portions were just enough so all could share from each other. We choose to order a la carte style, although the menu offered very good couple choices and happy hour specials. As our food was grilling , it offered a perfect time to enjoy the company of our party. Our waiter was attentive without being intrusive, he had perfect timing. The atomosphere is young with music in the background muffling other guests conversation. The finale was the dessert, open grill, of course S'mores. Yum. I wouldn't recommend this for families with young children as the grill is hot, unless your child is a frequent restaurant goer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macpack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value and Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were there for lunch on a Sunday. Very good food for its price. Service was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DOM52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great tasting, choice cuts of meat”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the meat lovers combination and two additional plates of beef between the five of us. The portions were good, and the happy hour beer prices were great. The service was prompt. We all left happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing