We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tasting, choice cuts of meat”

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 699 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: De Lacey
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great tasting, choice cuts of meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the meat lovers combination and two additional plates of beef between the five of us. The portions were good, and the happy hour beer prices were great. The service was prompt. We all left happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went here for DineLA where we got to try food for a discounted rated. Overall the service was great and the food was really good with options that included filet mignon and shrimp. I just can't imagine coming back here for the amount of money we paid and the amount of food we got. Although the quality of meat choices is very good, I feel like at regular prices, we wouldn't get our money's worth.

At the end of the day YOU are doing the cooking. Although I think it's a tad pricey, it is a great experience to have. It would be good to come here with a group of friends, a date or family (although maybe not with too young children since the grill gets very hot).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandMsRED3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
551 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great for Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Terrific prices for happy hour. You can try a lot of different items for low prices.

Great service. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff.
The rib eye, Filet mignon, mushroom medley, fried gyoza, NY steak were all terrific.

Congregation Ale House
Good happy hour. Nice beer selection. Great bar food. Homemade potato chips with dipping sauce and pretzels were really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Bunch of Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wanted something different for my daughter's birthday lunch. I got this recommendation from a friend. So my two daughters and I went for a nice leisurely lunch. We had so much fun! We ordered the Meats Lovers Combo for 2 which was way more than enough for the three of us. We were there during Happy Hour so a lot of the sides were at a discounted rate. I ordered the spicy cabbage which was my favorite! It had this chili carmelized garlic topping that really complemented the bbq meats. We had a great time talking, cooking, eating, and drinking a pitcher of green apple Soju. At the end, our dessert were S'mores. Our server was very attentive and had lots of suggestions. I can't wait to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank preyes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Meat lover combo was fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ordered the Meat Lover Combo for two person and it was a fantastic deal for $55. The resaturant had a promotion and they took 20% off the combo price. Sweet! The combo includes 7 to 8 different kind of cuts (mostly beef but i think there is a pork dish), a salad, deep fried chicken, 2 bowls of rice and miso soup. The meat were all marinated in different sauce and i found some of then on the salty side. The portions are little small for American standards, but we are Asians and have smaller stomachs. We tried very hard but could only finish 80% of the food. Cooking the meat ourselves make the experience even more enjoyable. We will come back if we are in the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crossover604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing