We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable special occasion dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royce at The Langham

The Royce at The Langham
Reserve with OpenTable
The Royce at The Langham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wentworth
Description: Featuring the finest selection of USDA Prime Cuts, Australian Wagyu and authentic Japanese Kobe Beef, expertly prepared over a wood-fired grill with White Oak and seasonal wood to sear in the maximum flavor and juiciness of each cut.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Memorable special occasion dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Its our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We're on our own. Which of many of the good restaurants in the Pasadena area should we choose? The Langham, of course! We've lived in this area all our married life and the Huntington Hotel in its many lives has always been a special place to gather. I heard the Royce was very expensive but we decided to go for it for this occasion. And what a treat awaited us! Our warm welcome was punctuated by a card of congratulations at our table. Our server was so kind and efficient. We never felt rushed. We shared a soup, lobster bisque (delicious with hunks of tender lobster), and a butter lettuce and beet with a tasty tarragon dressing. My husband had duck breast (perfectly cooked) and I had poached lobster. Dessert came with Happy 50th Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate. A wonderful evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pelerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    37
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“A little too pretentious and not cheap... but good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Located in the Langham Hotel in Pasadena, this modern decor steakhouse served up some great food - but it felt like it was trying too hard to be upscale. Upon arrival, we waited a little too long to be served and while the ambiance is fresh and modern, the mix of underdressed youth playing on their electronic devices combined with people who really dressed up for a special night out contrasted too heavily. Prices are a little too high compared with peer restaurants that fit in the Bib Gourmand or Michelin Star category. Bisque - $14. Crab cake app - $18. Filet (no sides) - $56. Tasting selection (3 small steak bits, no sides) - $88. Artichoke side dish - $12.

Wine: had a Benegas Lynch Meritage - charged $132 - checked retail pricing later - was $50 bottle. So markups overly steep.

VERY TACKY: They knew we were celebrating a birthday and they brought out a small tasteful birthday dessert (not requested), and then charged us $11 on the bill for it!

Overall, there may not be many high end spots in Pasadena, but there choices that blend a better combination of quality and price. Alternatively, for a better price and experience, drive to LA - there's no shortage of better places.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Royce at The Langham, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear LondonUnveiled,

Thank you for visiting The Royce Wood-Fired Steakhouse and taking the time to share your experience.

While I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered. We very much value your feedback as it allows our establishment to maintain exceptional levels of service and continue to improve the services we provide. It is definitely unacceptable that you were mistakenly charged for your birthday dessert. This was intended to be complimentary for you to celebrate your wonderful special occasion and sincerely apologize for this unfortunate error. We would very much like to credit you for this and have contacted you via private message to arrange for the refund. Please be assured I have shared your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage and the entire team at The Royce Wood-Fired Steakhouse who will review our menus for appropriate pricing and undergo re-training in the areas where we fell short to ensure the perfect dining experience for our guests.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Royce Wood-Fired Steakhouse in the future and deliver an improved all around experience.

Sincerely,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
465 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't expecting the Amazing dinner I got. Beautiful restaurant with stunning views. The wine area at the entrance really added some nice class. Had a table by the window beautiful view. Don't skip the dessert combo. The bread pudding was yum

Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely room great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The room is pretty over the top, quite different from the understated elegance of the rest of the hotel. Of course the view is stunning. I preferred the French restaurant which was its precursor, particularly since I am not a huge meat eater. However, we were able to find some vegetarian choices and the kitchen bent over backwards to make something special for us. The service was outstanding and the extensive wine list is full of excellent ( and expensive!) choices. Altogether a lovely but very expensive evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank innfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Royce is on our Top 10 List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We dined here for a special anniversary when staying overnight at the beautiful Langham hotel. The service was exceptional, the food was fantastic and the decor was classy. Last week, we were talking about our favorite restaurant meals and realized The Royce at Langham had earned a spot in our top 10 memorable dining experiences, contending with other restaurant experiences in LA, Santa Barbara, London, San Francisco, Vegas and Europe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royce at The Langham also viewed

 

Been to The Royce at The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing