We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and sweet owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azeen's Afghani Restaurant

Azeen's Afghani Restaurant
Ranked #345 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and sweet owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I didn't expect much, probably because I dont't know from afghani food. Bread and meat was what I expected, but I really enjoyed the stewed cauliflower, the dumplings in a veggie and yogurt sauce the rice and yes, the lamb kebab. And the owner was a sweetheart. Enjoy, it's just off n. fair oaks and near the courtyard Marriott

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam11225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Afghani food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love middle eastern food. This was a great find! Excellent stews and kabobs! Delicious appetizers - ask owner for recommendations - he was very friendly and is on the premises. Highly recommended. We had lunch but would have stayed for dinner if we were in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fam4ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must in Pasadena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have never had Afghani food but this is DELICIOUS! Nice people, good service and the food is just amazing. Highly, highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food - Fabulous Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had no idea what to expect when my friend took me to Azeen's...this place is now in my five top favorite restaurants in US. The food is a cultural mix of what seems to be many familiar spices, like east Indian, Asian, Italian and Latin spices and Azeen's mixed them to their optimal taste and makes these amazing dishes. We ordered several appetizers, dinners and dessert just to see what Afghan food had to offer...absolutely amazing. I can't wait to go back. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Exotic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

You may hate our war in Afghanistan, but you have to love the food. And at Azeen's, you get to sample a rich variety of Afghan dishes spiced with tastes you will find nowhere else. We like to skip the entrees and order a bunch of the appetizers in order to be able to taste many different preparations. Be sure to try the Aushak, Mantu and the butternut squash! And on top of the great food, the service is always friendly, the wine glasses large and full, and the owner a warm presence in the room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azeen's Afghani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azeen's Afghani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing