We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tops Special is truly special!”
Review of Tops

Tops
Ranked #39 of 701 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Tops Special is truly special!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Tops has been at this location since the late 70's, and I used to go here all the time when I used to live in the area. Seeing how I was back in LA for a visit, I had to make the trip!

Walking in brought back all of the great memories of friends, fun and most of all...the food! Although it had been redecorated it still looked, felt and most importantly smelled the same with the charbroiler grill going full tilt when we walked up to the counter. Ordered 2 Tops specials, small fries and small onion rings. Now, I like to eat, but if you order both, just order smalls unless you have a 14 year old 300lb lineman with you, you won't be able to eat 2 larges. So yes, this place gives generous portions.

Found a table, sat down and waited about 15 minutes, it was the end of the lunch rush so it was still pretty busy and the drive thru line out to the street (sometimes it goes down the street!) Well, my anticipation was rewarded! Their Tops special which is a 1/4 lb cheeseburger topped (excuse the pun!) with generous slabs of pastrami and accompanied with tomato, onion, pickles and a splash of mustard. I am writing this after I returned home and wish I could go get another right now.

The onion rings are made fresh and hand battered, their fries are unique and delicious. The drinks are refillable and it was all so good I went back the next day again for lunch before I moved on with my trip.

In and Out gets all the press, and I love them, but this is my favorite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoydCinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“``Tops'' Is The Tops!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in the Pasadena area for an extended period and a local resident suggested ``Tops.'' We were very pleased with the quality and taste of the food and went back for lunch a number of times. Menu is extensive and every item we had was delicious. ``Tops' employees (both the cooks and the cashiers) are very skilled and provide attentive service even though they are very busy during lunch hours. Great food and staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Everything!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My friends and I agree that absolutely everything is good at Tops. I have been eating at Tops for years. Even my work friends have heard about it and ask for directions. Yes, great pastrami, burgers, garden burger and taco. The taquitos are exceptional! You get real guacamole...not the runny stuff. If we have any leftover guacamole we save it and put it on a sandwich or something the next day. Chili fries...just stay away. Same with the onion rings and zucchini sticks, as they are way too good. Oh, and that crispy ground beef taco, who would think that this would be so good. You just break it all up because you get so much lettuce, and make a taco salad. Now with all of this traditional good fast food, who would think that they would have one of the best chicken salads in town? Crazy, but they do. The salad has a ton of rich, dark leafy greens and great grilled chicken. The chicken gets a little caramelized...yummy. I can't eat the whole thing, it will last me a day or two. Oh, and the Greek dressing is the best. The staff is always super friendly and they seem to have quite a nice family-type atmosphere amongst themselves. You must go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best pastrami in town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My favorites are the pastrami of course with onion rings. Their chicken tostada salad and zucchini fries is excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing NJ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Food Huge Portions”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was in the mood for a simple dinner, good fast cheap. Tops is tops in all three areas. Had the pastrami as suggested by many others, I must agree some of the best pastrami I have ever tasted. The small onion rings was a mountain of breaded fried goodness. Service was fast and friendly with a slime. Do not go looking for shiny silver and white linen. Go for good food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tops also viewed

 

Been to Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing