We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis Cafe - CLOSED

Oasis Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
La Puente, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

great service & great food! the prices are reasonable. i love the calamari and their pastas. yum! i will coming here more often

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DodgersChickLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I had lunch here. We noticed that they weren't very busy which did not make sense because the food was exquisite and the prices very reasonable. We started with the calimari prepared to perfection. Next course was a shrimp dish with pasta. The dish was either ten or twelve dollars and had five large plump quality shrimp. The pasta tasted very fresh. I had the steamed clams and mussels. It was delicious but small enough to be called an appetizer not an entree. The atmosphere consists of steel chairs and tables which would be the reason I did not give it five stars though I find more restaurants going to that look. If you are a foodie you will enjoy the quality food. We enjoyed a glass of Chenin blank/voigner and it was good. Our waiter Alexsandro was very attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Adventuresome dining in Old Town Pasadena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We found our food to be uniformly delicious. The amuse bouche of heirloom tomato on top of a tapenade of fig and olives was a nice starter. The best appetizer we had was the pork belly though the calamari was also very good. My duck was great, my wife's pasta with shrimp was terrific, and my son's paella type rice dish was excellent. The desserts were also really well done; hard to choose between the caramel pudding, the peach cobbler, the citrus infused meringue covered dish....but likely the best was the churros. My son loved them and soon they were all gone. The service was attentive and friendly. The decor is understated and relaxing. This is a restaurant worthy of your time, whether you are a foodie or simply want an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smerdlapgraslbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New find in Old Town, Pasadena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A restrained, spare, simple setting provides the perfect backdrop to some inventive, immaculately executed locavore cooking at Oasis Cafe on South Raymond Avenue in Pasadena. The menu is thoughtful and considered and the ingredients are locally sourced and neatly presented : no heavy masking sauces and the chef has a deft and accurate hand with the seasoning, so the overall effect is fresh, pleasing and suited for the hot summer's night we dined there. The Californian/Mediterranean tone reappraises some standards - lamb, calamari, hanger steak and shrimp - but the menu will change seasonally and in accordance with what is available at the local markets. My duck breast with parsnip purée and nectarines was a knockout! Special mention must be made of the enthusiastic and friendly waitstaff. All in all, a memorable meal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent New Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We tried this restaurant because of a good Travelzoo deal. It was one of the best in recent memory - delicious California cuisine with food with vegetables from the farmers' market (according to the owner who clearly takes pride in his restaurant) very good service, but fairly small portions. Menu has a nice variety of choices. Clean, uncluttered look. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing