We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar

Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: California
Transit: We are very close tothe Del Mar Station for the Metrolink. We are about 3 blocks away.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent Italian cuisine, excellent service. My husband would choose Gale's for dinner nine times out of ten.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendyCob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    93
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant away from tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Delicious appetizers especially prosciutto and melon. Entrees were enjoyed by most in the party, especially gnocchi, and there were leftovers for all. Nice wine selection. Attentive service. Back room is much quietter than front room. Pretty pricy, but overall we enjoyed.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeaVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, horrible owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The owner did not trust my opinion when i told him the ravioli's were cold, mushy, and disgusting; he said they were "just fine". I will never set foot back into that restaurant again. The owner is full of it...

Helpful?
3 Thank Quinn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great service, wonderful food, pleasant ambiance. This is our second visit and both were excellent experiences. Loud place but worth it for the food and the service is always prompt, courteous and helpful with wine and food selections. We will continue to return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can I take a nap here? Because I feel SO comfortable and cozy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Even after accidentally giving our reserved table away, the folks at Gale's still made up for it in service, expediency, and the awesome quality of their Italian fare.

I made reservations online for Gale's, but I was even able to call and change up that reservation just hours before. I wouldn't count on that being able to happen for everyone, but at least they were able to accommodate one guest in such a way. The manager (perhaps? A sweet middle-aged gentleman who spoke French) accidentally gave away our table for two, but was very apologetic about it. The hostess felt quite bad about us having to wait, and so she asked if we'd like a couple drinks on the house! So sweet! My husband ordered a gin martini and I ordered a glass of Pinot Noir. We probably ended up waiting an extra fifteen to twenty minutes, but honestly, it had been a nice date for my husband and I. We didn't care, and you can't complain with free drinks!

Gale's is somewhat small, but I love hearing all the buzzing around and seeing everyone enjoying their food. The atmosphere is really romantic, but I loved seeing lots of family get-togethers occurring for the holidays. You can tell that the locals love this place. It isn't the most young or hip spot, but sometimes I prefer that. I knew we weren't going to encounter any attitude or snobbery at this establishment. The parking is free, and while it isn't right in the middle of all the action on Colorado Blvd, it feel so cozy and warm.

I ordered the chicken parmesan (my go-to at pretty much any Italian place) and the portions were HUGE. Such a welcome sight! The entree came with a choice of two sides, and I chose a side salad and penne marinara. The salad was particularly good, but I can't remember all the details on it because my wine was kind of getting to me. ;) The chicken parm was delicious. Cozy, delicious, comfort food. My husband ordered the lasagna on recommendation by our waitress. He looooved it, and it was one of those meals where you take the first bite and your eyes roll back into your head because it's just what you've been craving. I remember our service being quite prompt, too. However, I will say that we were seated around 6:30 or 6:40, and not an hour later all the tables were filled up and there were plenty of folks waiting to be seated. As much as this may not be the "hip" spot, it sure gets crowded and for good reason!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McMidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing