We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful atmosphere, delicious food”
Review of Burger Continental - CLOSED

Burger Continental
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delightful atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We happened into Burger Continental for a late Sunday lunch and found it to be a gem! The food is delicious and the salads on the salad bar were EXCEPTIONAL! Burgers were very generous and had toasted buns which always adds to the flavor. Cost for the burgers, salad bar, dessert bar AND drinks was very reasonable. The casual, rustic atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. There was also a solo singer (with backgound CD's) and when he took a break, a belly-dancer came to entertain the guests. Our waitress went out of her way to be kind and gracious to us as well. It felt like a family-owned, family-managed business, but I do not know that for sure. However, this is truly a restaurant worth visiting -- whether local or tourist.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HuskerFan010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast Disaster”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I thought from a brief glance at the ratings that perhaps the place wasn't too bad though I had not selected the place. To start, the others were late so I started with a coffee. It was barely hot though better than some coffee I have had at some other strange places. We ordered when all had arrived - nothing special - 2 eggs with supposedly hash browns with some vegetables embedded , zucchini bread and a couple of pancakes. The plate was cold as were the eggs, hash browns and pancakes. The zucchini bread had no taste. I ate the eggs and the hash browns, but nothing else. I almost always eat everything - my parents came out of the depression so you must understand how truly bad what I was served. Another minor point - it had been closed in September by the health department in Pasadena. That did not give me pause as most health departments are too immersed in the details of grease. I don't know about the burgers, but a warning to those who could be expecting perfection.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tajikiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy Armenian Food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is Armenian food and American food. If you go with an Armenian friend you will get more attention from the owner.

I have gone to this place since 1990. I love it. I have never had a bad dish here.

I have asked to have my dish modified. Add this. Subtract that. Substitute this instead. It is never a problem. Food is made to order per whatever you want.

I tend to order lamb dishes. They do lamb well.

When I go to Pasadena for the Huntington Library or the Norton Simon Museum I eat here.

Parking is behind in the parking lot for the super market. Parking on the street is metered and hard to find. Park in the back.

The back is patio seating. The front is patio seating. Then there is inside seating. I prefer to sit outside. It is big place.

I order my meal and it is so much food I take half of it home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, BC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Honest and Delicious Burger!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a family run restaurant, the owner is very passionate and caring. The building is quite unique as it sits between two buildings. The burgers are delicious not to mention LARGE. Probably be able to feed 2. We had the mushroom and house burgers served with fries, of course, each meal comes with soup and salad. Great value... $6.99. Paid parking on the street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjbcmjbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I guess I went after the restaurant got closed for failing to pass health inspections in Sept. The food doesn't seem as good as it used to be. One word get your burger well done! The place always was built funny and you can eat outside too. I probably won't go back even for old times sake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doggiedaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Continental also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing