We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best burgers in town”
Review of Pie n' Burger

Pie n' Burger
Ranked #59 of 703 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some of the best burgers in town”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm not sure how they prepare their patties, but these burgers are addictive! The place itself is a dive, I guess on purpose. The staff are friendly but not overly warm. It's cash only. None of this gets in the way of enjoying these burgers. The pies are good too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smarmydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    47
    19
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delivers on the name”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pie n' Burger serves up great...pie and burgers. There are regulars at the counter who eat there for lunch every day. Do they serve grass fed beef with caramelized onions and bleu cheese from an organic dairy? No. But it's a darned good burger with cheddar and a milkshake to die for. We've been there four times and the waitresses have always gone out of their way to be nice to chidden and the wayward grandparent (looking for a grilled chicken sandwich...just half please). It is a well loved, clean restaurant with consistent quality and reasonable prices. Plus, they serve real, non canned fruit, butter crust pies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old school classic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Simple fare done well in a an old school diner atmosphere. Burgers are not for dieters but if you do not mind custom grilled burgers try this classic. Many places come and go but Pie n Burger remains.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old school burgers”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The burgers were very tasty flat top grilled burgers. Heard about the place and tracked it down. The decor was old coffee shop but really needed up keep. Holes in the linoleum tells it all. Had the opportunity to be interesting but the overall non caring attitude of waitress and staff shows it has long since seen its day. Excited about olalliebery pie but it lacked fruit and over loaded fruit jell. To bad it is a one and done or this foodie, I will find nostalgia in a place that values customers

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Love the cheeseburgers and the pies here, they are DELICIOUS! You have to try their boysenberry pie, it's sweet and tart...Some of the waitresses I do think need to change some of their attitudes but I haven't really had that experience but have witnessed it. Make sure you take cash! I haven't visited for a while so I don't know if they accept cards now but just a fair warning. One thing that sucks is that it's a bit overpriced for how small the place is and the little seating it offers, and a burger and fry shouldn't be THAT much! Once I went a half hour before they closed (My mistake but I was running late and really craving a burger!) but they closed the place early for whatever reason I don't know...

Anyways, go early and before the lunch or dinner crowds. This place gets crowded.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jazfromohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie n' Burger also viewed

 

Been to Pie n' Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing