We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat for a great morning start!”
Review of Zona Rosa Caffe

Zona Rosa Caffe
Ranked #10 of 34 Coffee & Tea in Pasadena
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for a great morning start!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Zona Rosa is a small place about half a block off Colorado Blvd near CalTech. There is a rather small amount of seating both inside and on the sidewalk. It's not a place like Starbucks where you might hang out for a couple of hours while catching up on your workload, but it is so much better as a place for a great coffee and a snack. . The coffee and tea offerings are distinctly Spanish or Mexican in style as the name might suggest. They have an excellent selection of pasteries which we found to be very fresh. I tried the Mexican Cappucino (served in a mug rather than a paper cup). It was excellent - more like a moca with a bitter-sweet chocolate. This is definitely a place I would visit regularly if I lived in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Little Cafe next to Pasadena Playhouse”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had a great triple espresso here. Some artist's work are featured here - all for sale. Cute little place to grab a coffee or tea after the show.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PasadenaTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexican Soda - Yum!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I visited this coffee shop on a recent trip to Pasadena. The decor was awesome - all this cool Day of the Dead stuff. I wasn't in the mood for coffee, so I ordered a blackberry flavored Mexican soda. It was just a Jarittos club soda with flavored syrup, but it was super tasty. I could definitely imagine myself making this a regular stop if I lived in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdjD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quirky place; good coffee”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A place with really friendly staff & good coffee. Usually quiet even though it is a 1/2 block down from busy Colorado Blvd. Rarely crowded upstairs (good place to have a long talk with a friend) & the decor is never boring!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lina41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice to be open so late”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've been here with my friends a few times. It was always a relief to see it open after coming out of the movie theater, just to sit and chat with some tea or coffee and something light to munch on. Atmosphere is also quaint.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mmesparza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Rosa Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Zona Rosa Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing