We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know if I will be back!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mijares Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #280 of 705 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I don't know if I will be back!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I went to celebrate a family member birthday and the service was not impressive at all. The food was not what I was expecting.
I did not try the drinks! We left to another place Instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDergar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a neighbor hood restaurant, we have 2 Mijares in town, this one is referred to as "Little Mijares"

Something happened to our favorite ""go as you are" Mexican place. They had a guy with a bushy mustache who thought it great fun to make the salsa so hot it burned the mouth so bad. He would just laugh about it.

I fail to see the humor in that as small children go there with families and they can't have it as it burns so badly.

That guy is not there but that salsa is still way beyond my mouth or many others. There is a very nice lady there that will bring me some Pico De Gallo, and I can mix a bit but why???? It makes no sense to me.

Most of the Mexican restaurants we go to, do have a very hot salsa but it is available on request. Otherwise they serve mild to medium salsa, but not ungodly hot.

The food used to be very good, but 2 weeks ago we went and there were bone chips in the ground beef. In other things we find the quality is not what it used to be.

It used to be a very nice place, the chip guy is a real sweetie and takes good care of us.

It needs a lot of work to bring it back up to par.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good, hole in the wall Mexican food. I've nicknamed this one the Mijaries outlet; it's still the really good food you...”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

good, hole in the wall Mexican food. I've nicknamed this one the Mijaries outlet; it's still the really good food you expect at one Mijaries on Pasadena Ave; but the decor is strip-mall.

Helpful?
Thank BradleyMAltadena
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Nice little spot.... sister restaurant to the Pasadena Ave location”
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Nice little spot.... sister restaurant to the Pasadena Ave location

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Rib-eye steak delicious...”
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Rib-eye steak delicious. Best trio music in town. Good for dates or family reunions. Parking challenging (sometimes).

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mijares Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mijares Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing