We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is clearly the best restaurant in Pasadena.”
Review of Arroyo Chop House

Arroyo Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Arroyo Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 799 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: California Ave.
Description: Ever-popular in the Pasadena area for the ultimate in business dinners, special-occasion dining and after-work cocktails hand crafted by the mixologists-Chop House has a broad appeal. USDA Prime Steaks, served exclusively, are aged, hand-cut daily, and perfectly seared in a 500 degree oven. Traditional steakhouse side dishes include creamed spinach, roasted garlic-mashed potatoes and massive asparagus spears. All desserts are made in-house including the signature Chocolate and Grand Marnier Souffles. The strikingly handsome restaurant exudes a youthful energy that gives the time-honored dining concept universal appeal. Our seasoned staff makes every effort to ensure our guests a remarkable dining experience and are happy to help guide them through the award-winning wine list.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Arroyo Chop House is the crown jewel of the Smith Brother’s three Pasadena eateries. Whether seated at the bar on a busy night, or at a table in the garden room, the food, the service, the experience is awesome. Everything is a la cartel with side dishes that are large enough to share. My veal chop was exquisitely prepared; a tender and succulent delight. Paired with potatoes, broccolini and spinach, I was in gastronomic paradise. The bar is very well stocked with Arroyo’s own barrel age spirits. Cocktails are old school, a trip to a previous, more elegant period in dining history. The servers are warm, welcoming, friendly and expert in their knowledge of the house fare. You can’t do better than this. On a good night you might be dining with Triple Crown winner, Mike Smith and trainer, Bob Baffert!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

We treated ourselves to a dinner at this restaurant, and a treat it was for sure. Outstanding food, great wines in a classy ambiance. Friendly and helpful staff. Not the cheapest place in Pasadena but worth every penny.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jacktM9848KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

While in Pasadena to celebrate our anniversary, we had the opportunity to enjoy our dinner Arroyo Chop House. Reservations were made in advance and we were immediately seated at a comfortable booth. The hotel included a handwritten congratulatory note and flowers--both were a very nice touch. Service was excellent throughout the meal---pacing of the dinner was appropriate. We started with mix of sourdough bread/garlic bread which was very good. We were provided with complimentary shrimp as a mini-appetizer-the shrimp was tasty. We then had the house special salad--highly recommend. For dinner, my wife had the Wagyu Steak while I had the halibut--both were exceptional, Side dishes were mushrooms (fantastic) and fingerling potato's (good). We received a complimentary cupcake as a desert. We found the Arroyo Chop House to be a solid value--some might find it expensive but I thought the prices were consistent with the quality of the meal/service and experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 363JosephB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

How many different ways can I say "average?" Six of us were here for a Father's Day dinner. Should have been very special, considering the high prices, but it was only average.

Obviously the meat was high quality, tasted good and was cooked in accordance with what we ordered; however, we can get that same result at many steak houses without the exorbitant prices. Appetizers and salads average $15 each, sides average $12 and steaks $50. The a la carte menu adds up very quickly, too quickly.

Service was not extraordinary at all. Oh yes, the dads at the table did receive a chocolate cigar in honor of their day. Our tab for 6 was $540 and just not worth it.

If money is no object, then this is a fine restaurant. Otherwise find another one.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iliketowrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Yes, the food is mostly delicious and service is impeccable but $175 for a couple to share a steak and appetizers plus only one had drinks.
Whoa.
Is a 12 oz. steak alacarte worth $70-80?
That’s why 4 stars.
Also couple of appetizers were not 5-stars of taste.
But the place is almost always packed so for the rich among us, no issue of price!
Next time I’m getting the burger, ONLY $30 with tax and tip!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Ethanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arroyo Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Arroyo Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing