We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Zankou Chicken

Zankou Chicken
Ranked #158 of 701 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I go here periodically though I have not in recent months. The last two times the food seemed stale. Another time I asked not to have hummus because I am allergic (seriously allergic). When I got home even though I did not have anything with hummus I tasted it on the food and my tongue started swelling. I like their food so when I went back I had to plead with them not to use any utensils that were used on hummus on my food. It was better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California, USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Garlic sauce is great!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

However, that doesn't change the fact that the chicken was dry dry dry. This is the standard garlic sauce available in many Mediterranean style restaurants, so I wouldn't go rushing over to get the chicken just because of the garlic sauce. When we complained that the chicken was dry, they didn't offer to replace it with some fresher chicken. Haven't been back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Falafel Fun!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I like coming here; it's a guilty pleasure, although not too guilty about it. Falafel is a weakness, and they have a great falafel sandwich. Their chicken dishes are not too shabby, either!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank marybelle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best Chicken in California”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We go here every time we're in Pasadena, great food for good prices. The side dishes are as good and fresh as you could ask for and they have added some extras lately....Even if all you do is take out, you will love this place and keep going back...Kudos to the owners ...by the way when will you be opening a place in Glendora???

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Shawarma on this continent”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

In terms of Middle Eastern dining: Shawarma, chicken, Humus, falafel, or tabouli... Zankou offers the best inNorth America, hands-down I have not had better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bighairyarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zankou Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Zankou Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing