We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Chicken in California”
Review of Zankou Chicken

Zankou Chicken
Ranked #158 of 701 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glendora
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best Chicken in California”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We go here every time we're in Pasadena, great food for good prices. The side dishes are as good and fresh as you could ask for and they have added some extras lately....Even if all you do is take out, you will love this place and keep going back...Kudos to the owners ...by the way when will you be opening a place in Glendora???

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Shawarma on this continent”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

In terms of Middle Eastern dining: Shawarma, chicken, Humus, falafel, or tabouli... Zankou offers the best inNorth America, hands-down I have not had better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bighairyarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level Contributor
321 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Average Food In Takeout Containers”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The food here was just average. I had a combo kabob plate and the chicken was done very nicely and the beef was just average. My wife had the chicken kabob plate and her chicken was below par. First it was overcooked with burnt edges on most of the pieces. Strange pieces of chicken and some had parts of bone or cartledge. It was like her chicken came from a different restaurant compared to mine. The salad that came with was just so, so and didn't appear to have any dressing. The food was placed into foam takeout containers even though we were having it to eat there. Seating was not very comfortable and the dining area was brightly lite. It was pretty cool out and whenever someone opened the doors to come in or out there was a blast of cold air for those seated near the door. We first had a booth by the door but had to move. All in all nothing more than an average experience. I would not recommend and will probably not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
1,359 reviews
1,021 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,982 helpful votes
“The chicken of happyness”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The chicken is soft, moist and tasty and you can't bite into it without a big pleasure; felafel is rich and flavorful and hummus absolutely irresistible. All accompanied by a fresh salad with pleasant sour and spicy notes and a soft pita. You can have an informal dinner with your colleagues or friends or a special person and always you will come out very good-humored. I usually hate fast food but Zankou's one is the chicken of happyness!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atepais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good quality, unexpensive fast food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Since a few months I live very close to this quite unatractive place and, as it always happens I gave it a try. Since my first experience I have returned several times using it as an easy alternative to cooking. Among the fast food it is definitely of higher quality. The chicken is very good, hummus and side dishes are excellent and also other recipies are definitely above average. The atmosphere is non existing (a downtown parking lot is more attractive) and the place looks a little obsolete but price and food are worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giulonragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zankou Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing