We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Peruvian restaurant was positive”
Review of Choza Mama

Choza Mama
Ranked #319 of 705 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First visit to Peruvian restaurant was positive”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited this restaurant as a group of 8 on a work trip to Pasadena. The restaurant was easy walking distance from the Courtyard Marriott in Old Pasadena. The food and service were fine and I was happy with the experience. One of the group had been to Peru and he noted that several of the menu items were authentic so it wasn't faux Peruvian. We spent roughly $40 per person (included tip) and everyone had a couple of beers (at $5 per pop) so it wasn't outrageously expensive unless you ordered the big ticket items. The waitstaff was very accommodating, although it seemed a bit odd that we were practically the only customers. Maybe mid-week evenings in November in Pasadena are slow times. I would certainly revisit this restaurant to try out other menu items if I ever return to Pasadena.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiasStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently visited and sampled items at Choza Mama in Pasadena. The location is great. It is right in the heart of town on Colorado. Delicious Peruvian food. We met the owner, who was charming and very interested in how we felt about the food. He also explained the international influences on Peruvian food, which was interesting. The staff was friendly. We will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We had sandwiches, but a mistaken order looked even better”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I ordered the pork sandwich, but got the pork lunch instead, and wished I'd kept it. The lunch came with rice and a wonderful looking helping of Peruvian beans. The pork sandwich came with big, fat seasoned french fries (could have selected salad instead). I'm a french fry lover, and like them unadulterated, so was not happy with the fries, but it may be the way people from Peru prefer their fries, so I wouldn't grade the restaurant down for that. Next time I'll select the salad option.

The meal started with wonderful, hot rolls that tasted great with butter, but there were also two dipping sauces. I also ordered the cilantro chicken soup for 99 cents additional with the sandwich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Salty food and small portions”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Serviceswas ok. We ordered appetizer, fried yuca root lunch with 3 sauces (tasty), in addition we ordered seco de carne with papa a la huancaina, the seco was very salty, papa ok taste, my friend ordered aji de pollo which it was as salty as mine and too much palillo which is a peruvian spice (neon yellow) which changed the original taste. I do not recommend to go there, try Mamita restaurant in Glendale instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larusaphilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Really Good Food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants, and one of the best spots in LA!! The quality of food is top of the line, the portions are very generous and the dishes/flavors are authentic. If you haven't had Peruvian food, this is the place to go. The menu has lots of options: interesting appetizers, salads, soups, meat/seafood entrees, pastas and vegetarian dishes. The sauces have bold flavors and can be made mild or spicy. And everything is made to order, so it's as fresh as it gets and just the way you like it! The dishes really have that "homemade" flavor and make you feel all good inside too! Even though the food is amazing, the best part about this place is the service. You can tell that everyone who works there really loves what they do and really want to make their customers' experience memorable. They are happy to explain various dishes and make recommendations based on what you like and are in the mood for. Overall, this is a great place, and you'll leave happy and satisfied!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElenaStar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choza Mama also viewed

 

Been to Choza Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing