We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than stellar Bastille Day dinner”
Review of Cheval Bistro - CLOSED

Cheval Bistro
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Less than stellar Bastille Day dinner”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Food is bleh... I went with a bunch of friends and we had the prix fixe special for Bastille Day which was $50/person. Mediocre food. I would not return. The escargot had way to much undercooked garlic in it. Much better options are available in Pasadena.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice French Bistro in Old Town”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The family and I have had several wonderful meals here. Great wine list, excellent martinis, the salad frisse is fantastic, as are the oysters. If you have a date night and no where planned, I highly recommend giving this local spot a try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GarlowFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a completely delightful experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

In city that has no shortage of restaurant options, Cheval Blanc stands out as an exceptional establishment for superb food, outstanding service and a serene yet lively atmosphere. There are enough menu options to satisfy any palette and the superb French offerings are tasty and tasteful, presented with flair but not pretension. Discretely placed flat screen monitors show beautiful scenes of France that one can savor or ignore. The location in the center of Old Pasadena next to a parking garage (but also with inexpensive valet parking) provides easy access.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaestroAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Every aspect - Outstanding”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We read about this restaurant in an insert to the Los Angeles Times. We ended up here on the spur of the moment, and we are really glad we did. From the first call to make reservations, the people were very friendly, fun and accommodating. There were four in our party and none of us were disappointed. Our meals were Steak Tartar (that was chopped sirloin, not ground), Backed Rabbit, Boeuf Bourguignonne and Cassoulet. (Next time we will have the Coq-au-Vin). All were prepared in the French style and were excellent. The Escargot were large, not the tiny snails you get in other places, and the Lobster salad was chock full of lobster. All in all, the only complaint was the acoustics, although we were here on a Friday night and the place was jumping. The price was resonable for Old Town Pasadena. 4 people, appetizers, entrees, desert and two bottles of wine -$ 240.00. As always when we go out, the wine bumps the price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOMnLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the finest meals we have ever had!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A great restaurant to take someone you want to impress. Outstanding food, excellent service, and elegant atmosphere. My wife and I agreed (and we hardly ever agree on anything) that this was one of the best meals we have ever had. A little bit on the pricey side like many of the Beverly Hills, Brentwood, Newport Beach, Santa Barbara restaurants but better food and well worth it for those special occasions.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flytba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheval Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing