We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark dingy smelly rooms.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dark dingy smelly rooms.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business in Pasadena. First thing I noticed when i walked in was that the room smelled heavily of smoke that someone has made an attempt to cover up. Window blinds were dirty and had holes in them. Walls had unidentifiable stains on them. Stayed on the third floor, but wifi had a very weak signal. There is no way this hotel is deserving of its current rating on trip advisor. Mike at front desk was extremely nice and professional, but the rooms are terrible here. Would not recommend and would not stay here again. It is worth it to pay a little more an stay at one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coriolistorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcatain1, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I would like to extend my apologize for your recent experience with our hotel. From your review it is difficult to identify exactly which room you were assigned. We do have some smoking rooms and I can only assume that you were assigned to stay in one of our smoking room. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously . We are in the process of replacing our drapes and your room might have been the one that is due to be replaced.

Could you please let us know which room you were commenting on so that we can quickly address the issues you have raised. If you have any other concerns or comments and would like to address them to us directly please feel free to call the property at (626) 449-3170 or by email at vagabondpasadena@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    112
    40
    16
    17
See reviews for
82
70
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is located close to the Calthec (about 10-15 minutes walk). Rooms are equipped in microwave and fridge. There is possibility to make laundry. Personnel is nice and helpful. Breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxx203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

dog friendly hotel, but no place for pets to do their business except around the neighborhood. too bad. but, responsible pet owners pick up their mess.
very clean and quiet hotel, even the hotel sit on the busy Colorado Blvd.
i've stayed here multiple times. and, i will surely come back in here.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly for reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isawlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had come down for a spa day at Glen Ivy and were meeting our friends in Pasadena for shopping the next day. We were very pleased to stay at this hotel! It was very clean and quiet. We stayed on the third floor, as someone on Trip Advisor had recommended. Very nice sheets and shower. The air conditioner was noisy, but we were able to keep our windows open, which was great! Great flat screen t.v. and comfortable beds. It was a great place to stay, not fancy, but very reasonable, too! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 311 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon,UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Enjoyed our recent stay at this moderately priced well run motel.
Good free continental breakfast.
Very helpful owner and clean rroms.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at Vagabond. The hotel was well located the room was really clean, and good breakfast in the morning. Definitely I will stop at this place next time I go to Pasadena, CA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zadarpila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My Family of 5 were excited to start our summer trip when our transmission went out while traveling through Pasadena at midnight. We were able to rent one of the last rooms that night at the Vagabond Inn Executive Hotel, so we could get a couple hours of sleep before dealing with our truck. The next day I arranged to have my transmission fixed and Dave Cartain went above and beyond helping us secure rooms and accommodate us (including our dogs) during this stressful time. As many of you know when dealing with repair shops, you never know when they will finish. Dave held rooms for us until we knew when we could get on the road again. My wife and I are were able to relax and actually enjoy our stay In Pasadena. There are many restaurants within walking distance and a inexpensive movie theater. My children loved swimmting in the pool. Dave, if you ever read this, My wife and I can't thank you enough.
Mike and Debbie Hopper
Sonora CA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.3 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.3 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#13 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
0.9 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Address: 1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Blocks away from Caltech, close to old town Pasadena shopping area, close to Pasadena business center and the playhouse district. Rose Parade passes in front of our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Vagabond Hotel Executive Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing