We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Husband and I rave about our stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Husband and I rave about our stay!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We were in California visiting Family as part of our Vacation. We spent 4 nights at the Marriott Courtyard then left for a few days travel to other locations. All in all, we stayed in 4 hotels during our vacation and by FAR The Marriott Courtyard was the cleanest, had the best customer service and the rooms were cozy and very comfortable! My Husband and I are both in the business of Retail Management, so we expect alot when we travel away from home. We were not disappointed! Thank-you to the entire staff of The Marriott Courtyard in Old Pasadena!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We feel completely the same as far as looking at other businesses and their level of customer service. When we see something that may need to be changed or should be complimented, we try to do the same. Thank you for your compliment and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    351
    104
    37
    18
See reviews for
219
193
50
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The staff at the Courtyard in Pasadena is wonderful. Everyone greets you with a cheery hello when you pass by - from the front desk to the concierge. The food in the restaurant is fantastic. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety; the evening buffet our group had was quite tasty. The restaurant staff was attentive to all of our needs.

The room was sizable and comfortable, as was the bed. The mints on the pillow each night were a nice touch.

The only negatives: the free Internet access in the guest rooms and in the conference rooms was woefully slow. Also, rooms facing Fair Oaks Avenue tend to be noisy - some cleaning or maintenance event noisly happens early Wednesday Am at around 2 that was not conducive to sleeping with the window open.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ric808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending meetings at the nearby JPL facility. The hotel is located only a couple of blocks off the main thoroughfare of Pasadena, making everything in Old Town very accessible and within walking distance, which was wonderful! The valet staff never failed to open the front doors for guests and the front desk staff greeted everyone with genuine enthusiasm. This Courtyard even has a concierge! Another bonus was the complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby, although one morning both the coffee and creamer were out and there didn't seem to be anyone addressing the issue - minor hiccup. The rooms were fairly typical of a Courtyard and included a micro/fridge combo, iPod docking station and Bath and Body Works products. The biggest test of the staff came following a scheduled water shut-down for maintenance. While the staff adequately warned hotel guests that the water would be shut off overnight, nobody was prepared for a failure of the boilers upon turning the water back on at 5am. This, unfortunately, meant their guests were forced to either forgo a morning shower or submit themselves to a (freezing) cold shower. Bad situation, but the staff rebounded by compensating guests with rewards points, meal vouchers, etc and were extremely apologetic. My rewards points were deposited in my account within 5 minutes of my leaving the front desk! Not an ideal stay, but I admire the resiliency of the staff and would definitely consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for posting on Trip Advisor. We definitely appreciate your patience during the challenge that took place with the hot water. A hotel can be very similar to a house in which there is constant maintenance needed and then sometimes, as in this case, a repair needs to take place and we do our best to not inconvenience our guests. This particular instance did not go as planned, and an inconvenience did occur, and for this we do apologize. We realize that guests do not come to hotels to be inconvenienced, however it is good to know that our efforts to help recover this occurence did not go unnoticed. Your comfort is very important to us and we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again so that we may show exactly how great of a job we can do.
Thank you again for taking the time to write in about your experience at the hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We are locals who, after checking all the moderately priced options in the area, chose the Courtyard Marriott as the one we refer our out of town guests to. Last week we had some work done on our house that necessitated our leaving for a few days so we booked a suite. Overall, our experience was great. The location can't be beat-with access to all of Old Town's restaurants and shops that we love.

The suite was very roomy, and allowed for plenty of room for our 2 year old to play in. It was comfortable, tasteful, and relaxing! We were on the 6th floor and had a view of the courtyard, pool, and mountains in the distance. We heard the St. Andrew's bell tower ringing on the hour, and it was very pleasant. (It's only during the day!) My son would stop what he was doing and listen attentively. The bathroom area was large, but there was only one sink in the extended counter top. The bar area also could have used a sink. The bed was comfortable, though a little on the soft side for my taste. There were 2 flat screen TVs, but surprisingly no movies available for purchase.

The hotel had a lot of business guests, and had different conferences/events during the day. In the evening, there would be a small group at the bar. This didn't really affect us (as leisure travelers) though. The breakfast was pretty decent and included the usual selections with the addition of cooked to order omelets, and make your own waffles. There was only one day that was warm enough for swimming in the pool and it was fantastic. The pool was heated and the temperature was perfect. They provided plenty of towels also-with no attendant rationing them out.

Overall the service was good and the staff was friendly to us and our son. The one time we requested something from housekeeping, they promptly brought it to us.

The only negative was the cost-since we needed a suite and it was last minute we weren't able to get any discounted rates either at the hotel on online. Also, the parking fees were a little high IMO. They offer both valet and self parking, and the fees for each are pretty much the same! However, the self parking is conveniently located adjacent to the back of the hotel which I found to be easier. And with the valet service, if you leave at peak times such as at 9 a.m., you might have to wait longer for your car.

All in all, we will continue to refer our out of town guests to the Courtyard Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay and for the best compliment you can give us: referring your out of town guests to us. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and were able to not only enjoy Old Town, but the swimming pool as well.
Thank you again for your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I highly recommend this hotel if you plan on staying in Old Town Pasadena. Its only 2 blocks from the great shopping and restaurants on Colorado. The staff members were really friendly and the rooms were clean and quiet. They also offer free internet as well which was a pleasant surprise. We also got a great rate because they were advertising a special on their website so we winded up paying only $109 per night which was a great deal!

Overall, a great place to stay for couples or for families!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldisawonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We had plenty of room to sleep, but should get a suite next time so we had more living space. Very good location, walk to Old Town, great fun. Better than I expected for a Courtyard for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airstream28IntlCCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay with us and the review of our hotel. Please let us know when you're in town again and we can check on the availability of our suites for you. They are twice the size of a normal room and should be able to accommodate you in the proper fashion. Also, thank you for mentioning that we did not appear to be the typical Courtyard. We've made lots of upgrades to the hotel and our services to put us more in line with a full service hotel, so we are happy that you were able to take advantage of these offerings and that you had a good stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Paid $229.00 on check in, paid $244.00 on check out ($15.00 parking fee) and charged $252.00 on my credit card. No honor bar no extras. Rip offs!!! Will NEVER stay a another Marriott again!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalDesertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, March 5, 2010
Thank you for your recent posting and review on our hotel. Although we enjoy seeing the positive comments about our hotel, it is the challenges that we are aware of that help us grow and improve our hotel and service. I'd like to ask if there was possibly a change in price from the time the reservation was made to the time of check in. Even in the age of technology, mistakes can still happen so I'd like to ask that you follow up with us here at the hotel so that we can research your account to ensure the pricing was accurate. Also, bad service was mentioned in the title of the posting. Although we strive to offer great service to each of our guests, sometimes challenges can occur and we attempt to ensure we make things right and have our guests leave with a smile. My apologies on this not happening with this recent stay, however we will follow up with our staff to let them know that we as a hotel not only need to put more focus on our service, but need to engage our guests more to ensure we are getting feedback during their stay with us.
Thank you again for your posting and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,358 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing