We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Room a little small, but nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location. Room a little small, but nice.”
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We had plenty of room to sleep, but should get a suite next time so we had more living space. Very good location, walk to Old Town, great fun. Better than I expected for a Courtyard for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airstream28IntlCCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay with us and the review of our hotel. Please let us know when you're in town again and we can check on the availability of our suites for you. They are twice the size of a normal room and should be able to accommodate you in the proper fashion. Also, thank you for mentioning that we did not appear to be the typical Courtyard. We've made lots of upgrades to the hotel and our services to put us more in line with a full service hotel, so we are happy that you were able to take advantage of these offerings and that you had a good stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    354
    105
    37
    18
See reviews for
221
196
50
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Paid $229.00 on check in, paid $244.00 on check out ($15.00 parking fee) and charged $252.00 on my credit card. No honor bar no extras. Rip offs!!! Will NEVER stay a another Marriott again!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalDesertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, March 5, 2010
Thank you for your recent posting and review on our hotel. Although we enjoy seeing the positive comments about our hotel, it is the challenges that we are aware of that help us grow and improve our hotel and service. I'd like to ask if there was possibly a change in price from the time the reservation was made to the time of check in. Even in the age of technology, mistakes can still happen so I'd like to ask that you follow up with us here at the hotel so that we can research your account to ensure the pricing was accurate. Also, bad service was mentioned in the title of the posting. Although we strive to offer great service to each of our guests, sometimes challenges can occur and we attempt to ensure we make things right and have our guests leave with a smile. My apologies on this not happening with this recent stay, however we will follow up with our staff to let them know that we as a hotel not only need to put more focus on our service, but need to engage our guests more to ensure we are getting feedback during their stay with us.
Thank you again for your posting and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was our first stop when we went to the west coast, USA, in June 2008. Wonderful service with all the extras that made the stay even more enjoyable. Hotel room was clean, beds were comfy, location was the best in town. It is definitely one hotel worth coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sluhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton,oh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

First let me state this is NOT yor average Courtyard type hotel. They have multiple doormen that greet you EVERY time you return as well as all front desk staff and bar/restaurant staff.
We were here for the Rosebowl game and it's a15-20 min walk to stadium.
Obviously there was ALOT of football fans here, not to mention the rosebowl parade going on. I have to admit I NEVER heard a single sound at night, and i'm a light sleeper. (of course, Oregon fans seem respectably quiet anyway, but buckeye fans are normally crazy! ha) Breakfast was spectacular with a made to order omelette bar for $12. (we waled 2 blocks 2 the parade route and stopped at a greasy spoon diner one morning for breakfast, it cost $3-5 more pp)
Obviously with the events going on some of this attentiveness could be just for the brief football/parade crowds but i doubt these employees are ever as overworked or stressed than during this period. they were all incredible, from valets,to wait staff/front desk,concierge even houskeeping was superb.
Thumbs up Marriott! IF..we ever go back to a Rosebowl (thats a big IF) i would not hesitate to stay here again. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Thank you for your kind words and understanding of the special event that was happening in the area. Its normally a little busier, however the entire staff enjoys the Rose Bowl and to see what kind of excitement the different fans bring. Ohio State and Oregon did a great job with the team spirit and we would be happy to have both teams back. You all did a great job in our raffle, too, helping to raise $800 for the local Humane Society. We still can't express how grateful we are for that and being able to witness firsthand a group of people who gave to an organization that was outside of their local area. Well done and with the way Mr Pryor played in the Rose Bowl, I would venture to guess that you all are on tap to have a pretty good season next year. The best of luck to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The property is located within walking distance of restaurants, bars, and shops in Old Pasadena so it is really convenient. The room was clean and quiet, average size although the bathroom area (separate sink from the bathtub and toilet) had virtually no storage space. Staff was friendly and helpful and the pool area was well kept. My only complaint is that internet (although free of charge) is wired and only one computer can be connected at a time. The system is really outdated and the connection would drop very often, having to restart both the modem and the computer in order to get back online. But overall a great place to stay in Pasadena.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Europe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed here for the Breeders Cup at Santa Anita (2009). The room we got was perfect in at least one way: it was on the top floor, right in the corner, next to the entrance to the parking spaces on our floor. It was definitely the quietest room I have ever stayed in during my visits to the US. Usually you get noises from your neighbours, airco's, ice makers, generators on the roof. We got none of those ... perfect. It was room 676 by the way.

The hotel itself is just about 4 stars. The rooms are clean and in decent condition. The bar is a nice place to hang out (free popcorn), and the food there is OK. Breakfast is never my favourite meal, and this hotel couldn't convince me otherwise, but there isn't much too complain about either.

There is a small business centre, where you get free internet access, printing, etc (although only one of the three printers were functioning when I tried to print our boarding passes).

We got a late checkout on the last day. The girl at the front desk tried to charge us for half a day, but we said we only wanted two hours extra, which eventually she gave for free. She wasn't exactly gracious about it, but that's fine.

In general, I though that staff could have been a touch friendlier (apart from the girls at the bar who were very friendly). Half of them actually looked a bit unhappy in their job.

Anyway, it was a pleasant stay, and if you need to be around Pasadena, it's probably the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Everything we wanted to see/do was a walk away (swing dance on Saturday night, restaurants, shopping). Hotel staff was tops - including concierge support. Price for a Saturday night was perfect, only $109 for advance purchase. We plan to visit again and again for a weekend away. A short drive to hiking around the Rose Bowl too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pflagdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,381 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing