We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveler rating
340
391
117
40
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
391
117
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationrose bowlwithin walking distancefair oaksmemorial parkparking garageself parkrestaurants and shoppingfire pitfront desk staffstarbucks coffeecolorado blvdvery nice staythe norton simon museumdefinitely stay here againquiet roomfridge and microwave
Filter
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 906 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Courtyard Old Town is by far my new Favorite Los Angeles Hotel. I used to stay at the Sherman Oaks Courtyard, but the service was a distant second to Old Town. Not only is the hotel clean and the service fantastic; but there is a ton of great restaurants and shopping within right outside the door. If you are like me, and don't like to drive at the end of a workday, this is the best, and probably the safest, spot in LA. Whether it's national chains to eat at like Buca di Bepo, Cheesecake Factory or Johnny Rockets or the twentysomething local favorites - the dining is great.

Great spot!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nware1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent trip to Los Angeles. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you'll choose us again the next time you are in town. One of the exciting parts of Pasadena is that its like a favorite movie with a great plot. Each time you watch it again, you see something else to enjoy. Pasadena is the same, as each time you go out into the city, a new shop, small street or coffee shop just seems to appear from no where.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stay here when I have to go to LA three times a year. It's close to the freeway and an easy trip to Dodger Stadium. The hotel itself is nice, clean and the staff is friendly. Some of the rooms are showing their age. The attached parking garage is nice, though it can be a little hike if you're in the far wing. Very, very small complaint. Location is good for walking to bars, restaurants, etc. Pasadena has some nice shopping and such, all within walking distance. It's a Courtyard, so there's free Wi-Fi, that's always a nice touch. In short, as I mentioned in the title, you're close enough to LA without having to deal with element of LA that you (for at least, me for sure) find, well, unattractive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarriottGuySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking time out to review us as well. You bring up an interesting point of our hotel being close to LA without that same feel. Pasadena has its own unique element while being convenient to all there is to do in Los Angeles.
Thank you also for your review of the room. One of the largest things that we've noticed that has added to the feeling that our rooms do not have that modern feel are the televisions. They work fine and give a good clear picture, however we're in the planning stages of upgrading to flatscreen TV's, which should give the room a more sleek and modern look.
We hope to see you again and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Marriott proved to be a very convenient place to stay for our two days in the Los Angeles area. Within a two minute walk of a good choice of Restaurants in the attractive center of Old Pasadena, it also provides easy access to the freeway system - getting to the Hollywood Bowl for a concert, for example, took us around 35 minutes.

The room was a little on the small side for the price but was very clean and well furnished and the bathroom was equipped with a good shower, (not always the case in America, we found). Staff were very helpful and courteous although there was some mix-up concerning our registration which resulted in me being asked to go down to reception afetr 10pm with identity! (fortunately they sorted this out while I was getting dressed and I didn't need to go).

Only real criticism concerns being disturbed twice on the morning we were due to leave by staff wanting to service the room - given that we were due to check out at noon there seemed little point in cleaning the room at 8.15am or even at 10am! (As we were flying home to Britain that evening we deliberately tried to sleep late and the 8.15 call woke us up!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbriaRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2009

Thank you for your time in letting us know about your stay. We appreciate your kind words and are happy it was an enjoyable time spent in Pasadena. For future reference, if you're ever back with us again, please ask about the shuttle that goes directly from Pasadena to the Hollywood Bowl. The pick up point is about 2 blocks away and makes for a very convenient trip.

Thank you for letting us know about the inconvenience of the day of your departure. We will follow up with our housekeeping team to ensure that we do a better job on allowing for some extra quiet and relaxation time on weekend mornings.

Thank you again for your time and sharing your thoughts with us. We hope you had a safe trip home to Britain and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I am a multi-year Marriott Platinum member (>75 nights/year). I have held training events and stayed in this hospitable hotel many times. Service, catering, rooms, . . . you name it are second to none. As other big brands diminish service, this hotel just gets better and better. In the heart of Old Pasadena, there are hundreds of restaurants within walking distance, not to mention incredible Norton Simon art museum.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2009

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Our Banquets team and Catering team work very hard and for them to receive compliments this way is really great. Thank you for choosing our hotel again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

First of all, we stayed at the Courtyard Marriot due to it's location. We got a suite because our son was getting married and we wanted room enough to have a gathering place. We requested a table and chairs to play poker and the staff was very accomodating. We asked the concierge to make us reservations for 12 at Bucca de Beppo which he did and also provided us with free shuttle service and we didn't even ask! We hired three beauticians to do hair and makeup before the wedding and the suite worked out great because it had lots of mirrors! We had fun at the pool. The staff brought out free ice tea and ice water for each table. Free Starbucks coffee in the morning. LOTS of nice restaurants and bars very close by. I loved Russels for breakfast. Cheesecake Factory and Bucca de Beppo were just a stone's throw away so we didn't eat at the hotel at all. Too many good restaurants close by to try. Parking is $15.00 a night but you can park on the same floor you are staying on. There are six floors. If you lend your keycard to anyone else to park, you will get charged extra. We did this to help someone out because their keycard did not work for some reason and we got charged, but now we know. It was such a great experience to stay there, that we didn't care about the extra charges to park. The rooms are comfy and clean. You'll be happy you stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebiVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2009

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments, as its always good to know that our staff was able to surpass expectations. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews