We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This Hotel is vey nice and close to the 134 freeway. The hotel is being remodeled but we arrived after it stopped for the day and left before it started in the morning. The staff were very friendly and professional. We received a small gift for being Marriott club members. We were put in a newly remodeled room. It was vey nice and spacious. The beds were firm and very comfy. The pool area was beautiful and very relaxing. Great landscaping. I wonderful place to decompress after a long day. The only down side was the bathroom sink area is small. The blow dryer was in a dresser drawer. There isn't much space to set things in the sink or bathroom area. A small stand of some sort would be helpful in the bathroom. There is a charge for parking. I would gladly come again and plan for more time to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchthelambinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. So glad you got some “me” time to relax by the pool. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    354
    105
    37
    18
See reviews for
221
196
50
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We love this hotel and come here every chance we get. Everything is simply excellent. I have even become comfortable in the new lobby,which serves a delicious egg-white and spinach breakfast sandwich. The prior manager, Tim Bristol has been promoted to a new, bigger job -- and even he kept his office in the hotel. Now, they have remodeled and upgraded the rooms. And, i would like to correct one reviewer's error. There are at least three elevators (two more in the back) and perhaps four. I love this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieBoulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Charlie,

Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you are liking the newly remodeled rooms. And yes we have many elevators, three just like you said.
And that Tim Bristol character you are referring to….yes he has been promoted, but graces us with his presence frequently.
Thank you again for being such a loyal customer. We truly appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for business every couple months. The rooms were showing major signs of their age, but they finally are renovating the rooms. I was on the verge of switching hotels in Pasadena, but now the rooms are clean, updated for business traveler, and modern. Just wish they would have installed thermostat instead of keeping window a/c. Upgraded toiletries would be nice too. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Marcus, at the front desk, always has a smile and is always asking if he can help. Hotel is within walking distance from shopping and restaurants on Colorado Blvd. I reco this hotel for business and family traveler.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank barkwood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. So glad you hung in there and stayed with us throughout the challenging time. We have about a month to go before all rooms are complete so the end is near. We truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize Marcus at the front desk. We will make sure he gets a big “shout out” from our team in appreciation.
Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It had been a couple of years since I stayed here, but my experience in January was consistent with prior experiences, which were all very good. The hotel had been remodeled since my last stay, with many upgradges to the common and dining areas. Food in the cafe is very good, and the hotel has a nice outdoor courtyard with a pool and hot tub that are a nice amenity. Rooms are comfortable. The only real downside is the fitness center which consists of a room about 15 x 15 feet, crammed with 5 pieces of cardio equipment and a small bench/weights. The equipment is in decent shape but it is often difficult to get access during morning or evening hours because the room fills up quickly.

Great location - near Old Town Pasadena and within walking distance of many great restaurants and shoppes. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel26x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. The outdoor courtyard with fire pit, pool and hot tub is great place to unwind after a day of shopping in Old Pasadena.
The fitness center will be completely updated with new equipment and décor in the very near future so please be looking for these positive changes and more.

Look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty big, there are two sides to it. One side is under renovation and the other side is the to be renovated side. We were placed in the to be renovated side, so the room looked very dated. They also only have one elevator, so some what of inconvenience if your room is really far away from the elevator . Like other reviewers mentioned, each floor has its own parking lot, so if you don't need to go to the lobby, you don't really need to use the elevator . Long story short, we had to changed the room because it wasn't cleaned yet, the front desk responded quickly to our needs and gave us another room.

The other room was on the other side where it is under renovation and our room was newly remodeled . Compared to the previous room that we stayed in, this is the price that I paid for. Everything is brand new and just looked really nice. I strongly suggest to wait until they are fully renovated before staying there or must request for a renovated room. What a big differences! However like others said there are still clutches in the renovated side, which I'm not going to mentioned because they resolved the problem.

All in all the stuff were extremely helpful and responsive to my needs. I will definitely stay here after it is completely renovated. If they are still under renovation I would stay at Westin instead, so I don't have to deal with all the inconvenience . I hope they will renovated the gym too, because it is small and dated.

All in all the rooms area bigger than Westin, wifi and great staff. However will not stay here until it is fully renovated.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cranqee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. We truly appreciate your very detailed feedback and the kind recognition of our great staff.
The renovation is now over halfway completed which now means more rooms than not have been renovated. Another month or two and we will be fully competed. The gym will also be completely updated as well so please be looking forward to that as well.

With the Courtyard having Pasadena’s newest rooms, best location, free Wi-Fi, open comfortable lobby, reasonable food and beverage pricing and great staff, it just seems like an easy decision.

Thank you again so much for both staying with us and for keeping us in mind for the future.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stay here for business when in Pasadena. It's a short walking distance to the shopping strip on Colorado Bvd. It's a busy hotel with business travelers. There's ample parking in the back of the hotel. Book early as it fills up pretty quickly during the week. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. The location is tough to beat with many options just steps from the hotel.
We are most thankful for your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was working at the Federal Courthouse--what a great location for both the Courthouse and all of old town. Room was nice and staff was accommodating. Breakfast has everything you could want. I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Walk around the corner to Slaters 50/50-build a burger. 100 beers on tap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. While our location is great, breakfast bountiful, we truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our staff.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,381 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing