We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, nice rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for one week whilst attending the Breeders Cup in Santa Anita. The staff on reception were excellent always helpful and smiling. The Concierge Michael spoke to us every day with different ideas of places to go and what to see. The location is so close to the main shopping, bar and restaurant area. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent with made to order omlettes, there is also a short walk away, Marstons a small restaurant renowned for its brilliant breakfasts with many American specialities, well worth a visit and often a small queue outside. A great chuch nearby well worth a visit to look around with candy striped pillars all different colours. The Norton Simon Museum is just 10minutes away by car and the art there is tremendous with a nice lakeside walk outside next to a good cafe. Well worth the $10 entrance fee.

Room Tip: No noise on the fifth floor where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestLondonMrBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Traveler, We are so glad to hear we were your choice of hotel for the wonderful Breeders' Cup event at Santa Anita! We hope you enjoyed the races! We are so fortunate to have people like Michael. He is very knowledgeable and sounds like he sent you to all the right places for you and your wife! We look forward to your future stays in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 840 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Thank you to all the staff who do an amazing job. We were here for a weekend trip, not realizing there was a football game that weekend with lots of drunk loud patrons. The staff arranged for a nice quiet room for us and minimized all hassle. Wonderful food in the lounge, nice wine and beer selection, pool and hot tub are always clean. Best of all is the staff; everyone from Marcus to Danny to Tiffany to Zaira are so helpful and accommodating, it's like visiting the family you like!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank slolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay! Our staff does our very best to accommodate all of our guests no matter what their need is and we are glad we were able to find that quiet room for you! We hope you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to your future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Performed at the Rose Bowl for a charity event and stayed at the Courtyard. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Nice amenity for Rewards member. Lounge staff was great - especially Cinderella (not her real name but she knows who she is) - she was very friendly and mixed a great martini!

Valet parking was reasonably priced and the guys were quick to retrieve car. All in all a great experience. Will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Fair Oak (sirens) and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60isthenew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our staff from the Bistro to Valet! We are so lucky to have wonderful staff that truly care for all of our guests needs. We hope you had a fantastic concert and are so glad we were your choice of hotel We look forward to your future travels to the Pasadena area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I travel to Pasadena every month for work and I have chosen this hotel due to its great location and really wonderful staff. The staff from top to bottom are extremely kind and helpful. I have brought my wife and baby daughter on a couple trips and they go out of their way to help us. They have a supply of little animal bath toys that they give out to our daughter on each trip.
It isn't fancy but it has everything you would want in a great location. I would highly recommend for a trip to Pasadena.

Also - the omelet for breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Scott, Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay. We are so glad to hear we are your first choice when travelling to the Pasadena area for business or for pleasure with your family. Our highly trained staff is excellent and we are so fortunate to have great people! We look forward to your future visits to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with my week long stay here. The hotel was clean, nice, and didn't cost a fortune. Which is probably why they did not include breakfast. They had a decent assortment of beers in the bar and enough televisions in the lobby/bar to accommodate most everyone's wants.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Oubeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Traveler, Thank you so much for taking a moment to share with us about your stay. It makes us so happy to hear that you were able to find something for everyone in our Bistro/ Bar Restaurant. We do our very best to find that something for everyone and are glad we accomplished that for you! We look forward to your future stays in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just one night. This is a good location base for visit places in downtown Los Angeles - not more than 30 min away Parking garage is attached to the building. Hotel is just a few blocks from all of Old Pasadena restaurants and shops. Convenient location, great concierge service, very nice lobby, the rooms are clean. Window of our room was facing a gas station. Wi Fi was 3 bars out of 5 and is still ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sholom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us about your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed it and were able to take advantage of our awesome location, which is located in Old Pasadena! We thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a foodie trip down to LA and this location served as a great base and launching point. Most places we went to in LA was a 30 minute drive. Additionally, the hotel is 1.5 blocks from all the action of downtown Pasadena full of its own restaurants and shops. Parking at the hotel is $15/nt for self park, $17/nt for valet.

Pros:
- Staff are very courteous
- Location

Cons:
- Decor is a little outdated
- Rooms are mostly clean, but there was some mold building up on the ceiling corners above the bathtub.
- TVs are on the small side (26") compared to other Courtyard Marriott's we've stayed at in the past.

Overall, it was a good hotel and good value. We would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chardbroiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear we served as an excellent spot to stay for your foodie trip to the area! We are so very close to many of those amazing shops and restaurants that Old Pasadena is known for! We look forward to future stays and thank you again for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,401 reviews
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $139 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing