We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, lacking minor details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, lacking minor details”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had stayed just one night and had a good experience overall. The lobby and restaurant area are very nice and comfortable with places to sit and watch the numerous TVs they have. The outside pool area was very well kept and relaxing, probably the best part of the hotel. My only complaint is minor cleanliness issues in the room. Some discoloration on the walls of the shower, and some rust spots on the faucets. Housekeeping had seemed to forget one of the towels from the previous guests too. Not enough to keep me from coming back though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thisguyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience you had with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time outside by our pool! We hope you found it relaxing! We have also notified upper management and housekeeping about the small minor things you experienced in your room. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    351
    104
    37
    18
See reviews for
218
193
50
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited again for our holiday this year. My husband visits with work twice a year and was eager for us to visit last year and we loved it so much that we returned again for this years holiday. The hotel is great and the staff service is exemplary, nothing is too much for them. The only moan that I have is the carpet in our room was really dirty. My husbands and sons socks were filthy from walking around. My daughter and I had slippers. That said, we will continue to use this hotel as it is so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Jane, Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We are so glad to hear that you look forward to staying at our hotel during your holiday! We are going through deep carpet cleaning and appreciate your patience and feedback! Thank you so much! We look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and no complaints. Very welcoming staff at check-in. Great to be able to park on the same level as my room (which was on the fifth floor). The room was as you would expect from this kind of chain, but the bathroom was a little dated. Well located for shopping, and close to the freeway. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to share with us about your stay! So glad to hear that you were able to experience a wonderful check-in with our well trained front desk staff. As you mentioned, the location is very nice and in a close walking proximity from many shops and restaurants! We look forward to your future stays to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a very long flight from Australia, I was greeted by the most unfriendly staff in America. However, that was a minor issue but the loud noise, and dated room was too much. After not getting any sleep, I bolted the next day. The place is in a great location close to all shops and beautiful restaurants. I just wouldn't recommend as there are nicer places nearby.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenysjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We will address the service issue and will also discuss it with our staff. We appreciate your feedback and take every comment seriously. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed. Have a wonderful rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this hotel for our recent stay in Los Angeles because we were using free nights from a Marriott Rewards promotion. We chose it because it was the closest place to Dodger stadium that was in the category of hotels we could use our vouchers at. I had researched it and reviews were good but this even exceeded what the reviews said. The staff was amazing!! There was a gentleman at check in that was exceptionally friendly and helpful and we wish we paid more attention to his name so we could mention that here. He was there late when we checked in after the Dodgers game and then in the morning helped us figure out the metro and gave us advice on what to see and what stops to use for the metro. His customer service was exceptional. The hotel was typical Courtyard and was clean and very nicely landscaped. Rooms were quiet and clean and very dark for sleeping. Valets were courteous and helpful when we needed directions. Overall this is a GREAT place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r440m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words about our staff and hotel! We are very lucky to have a team that is worth raving about! We hope you enjoyed your visit to Dodger Stadium and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is described as a 3 star accommodation and that is what it is. Great location, friendly staff (both late night and day staff) and comfortable beds. We also appreciated that the walls weren't paper thin so even though the hotel was booked up for our last night there with a big name concert near by, we didn't hear a thing in either joining walls.

It's also walking distance to lots of great restaurants, movie theater and shopping. If we ever go back to Pasadena we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the pool. Decent view and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Kristi, We are glad to hear that we were a good choice of hotel for your travels to the Pasadena area! Our location, as you mentioned, is great location all in walking distance we have many shops, restaurants and a wonderful movie theater! We look forward to your next visit to Pasadena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel during the month of August. The staff members are very friendly and have gone out d their way to be very helpful. We look forward to breakfast every morning. Gaston, the omelet chef, is phenomenal and makes the stay worth it all.
The rooms are a decent size with a comfortable bed. My only complaints are there needs to be more towel hooks in the bathroom. In addition, the carpeting in our room has a couple of "thread runs" and dirty spill stains.
Great location and is in walking distance to great eateries and quaint shopping!

We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Traveler, Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and hotel. Gaston is a great addition to our hotel and we are so grateful to have people like him on our team here at the Courtyard! We look forward to your future travels to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,357 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing