We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not this Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not this Courtyard”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Definitely not up to standard. Needs to be revamped. Checked out after I night in the most uncomfortable bed ever. A/C squealing all night, emitting unidentified smell making me sick. Staff no help. No safe in room. Filthy. My socks were black after walking around room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here until it is redone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your thoughts and experience at our hotel. I do apologize that we fell short of your expectations. These comments are taken seriously and we will discuss with both our management team and front line associates in the hopes of serving you better.

Thank you again for your comments and please enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    354
    105
    37
    18
See reviews for
221
196
50
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First the good: The location is very nice. Right in the Old Town Pasadena area, this hotel is walking distance from all major restaurants, bars, and night clubs. The hotel has security, and therefore is pretty safe. The garage (for a fee) has ample space of parking and connects to the hotel. The service was good, the staff were friendly, and the lobby area was nice.

The cons: We rented 4 rooms for several days. The beds were mediocre at best. The rooms that faced the major street were so loud with car noise (and we were on the top floors) that it was impossible to open the windows. The A/C was even louder! Most of the rooms need major upgrades. A lot of the furniture was wobbly or cracked. There was little water pressure in the shower. The rooms did not look very inviting.

Overall, it is a decent place to stay in Pasadena, but don't have too high of expectations. I don't believe that this hotel is worth the money they are charging.

Room Tip: There are lots of restaurants in the area, so walk around. You don't need a car in Old Town, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your thoughts and experience at our hotel. Our location is very nice, especially being the only hotel in Old Pasadena and within walking distance of the best restaurants and shops that Pasadena has to offer! So very glad to hear you were able to take advantage of it! We will be discussing with both our management team and front line associates the 'cons' you provided us with and see what actions we can take to best serve you and our other guests for future visits. Thank you again for your comments and please enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms, lobby, and hotel overall, similar to other Courtyard. One negative is the noisy air conditioner. Had to turn it off in order to sleep. I tried the small pool (maybe less than 20 meters), water heated at 85 degree. It's okay. Easy to park on the same floor as your room. Hotel is a U-shape which means if you enter from the from the garage, be prepare for a long walk if your room is at the end of the U-shape. Nothing glaring bad or great. However, the location of the hotel is central to restaurants, shops, and parks. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: not at the end of the U-shape..too far from the garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Molly, Thank you so much for your kind words! We love to get feedback from our guests! As you mentioned, our hotel is very conveniently located near many shops and restaurants all in walking distance! We hope to see you with your future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of June (2013). The room was very clean and had very comfortable beds. There is a parking garage for your car so you do not have to park on the street. Very good value for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience with our hotel! We always love to hear what our guests think! Our location and parking situation is prime and we are glad you found it to be very convenient! We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I've posted pictures of the room with the view that I had. This place is a hit or a miss depending on the room you get (hint: stay away from the lower odd number rooms (I was in 209) Yeesh, for $179/night, I was expecting a little something more than a Las Vegas Circus Circus styled room with an inner-city Chennai, India view. I've stayed here before and there are some nicer rooms with good views as i've stayed in them but this tiiiiime .... This experience has turned me off from staying here for good. The bed was bouncy and squeaky, so I went to the other double bed and that was better, but my back this morning is paying the penalty. The good: This place has to it's advantage the location of being close to Colorado Blvd, and the lobby is very nice, but the bottom line is how well the over-all experience was (for the price, as sometimes you getwhat you pay for)and how well I slept and that was sadly lacking at this place.

(Management, you can save the empty apologies here on the reply as you weren't able to resolve it while I stayed here)

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank San-Diego-Surf-n-Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and the time you took to detail your experience. We will take your comments as a teaching opportunity for our team and are most thankful for your time spent with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just spent 4 nights while in Pasadena for a sporting event at Rose Bowl Aquatics. It was less than a 10 minute drive to the Rose Bowl and a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants in Old Town. I'm amazed that this is the only good hotel in Old Town. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had breakfast in the restaurant several mornings and was very happy that they offered lots of healthy options. Lobby and restaurant are very modern and bright. Room was clean, comfortable bed, really liked having the microwave and refrigerator in the room. I agree with previous reviewer that layout of hotel can make for long walks from the garage and is not great if you have a lot of luggage. Ask for a room on the garage side of the hotel if you are going to be hauling a lot of stuff. Small pool in the middle of the courtyard is nice for a dip on a hot day and my kids loved the hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Cindy, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. Our location is prime and in a good proximity to many things in the area, especially because we are located right in Old Town! We hope you enjoyed your event at the Rose bowl and look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From my arrival to my departure everything was perfect. Valet, desk staff, housekeeping, food and food services scored a 10. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a top notch property on Old Town

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasDashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We are very appreciative of you taking the time to share your perfect stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. We could not be happier with your positive experience. We very much look forward to your next visit.
Until then, please have a wonderful Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,381 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing