We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service, not a great value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, not a great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Within walking distance of all the restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were well equipped, everything was present and in working order. The bed was comfortable, pillow selection good.

Rooms are on the small side, and generic. Liked the Paul Mitchell products in the bathroom. Towels were large, dried well, not soft though. Noise from ajoining rooms (and the one above) was higher than usual; the walls are pretty thin. You'll hear the hair dryer next door.

Loved the coffee/tea supplies on the credenza.

The wifi was so-so.

Room prices were high, Price to park was more than $15/day and was additional.

The bar...in California, so close to great vineyards...and you're serving what? The same bilge at the same ridiculous prices as the Courtyard in Rossford Ohio. Shame.

Restaurant food was just fine, lobby quite nice and always busy. My "view" looked at the roof of the gas station next door.

Room Tip: Up, and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonoran_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you experienced some challenges with noise. Our urban location is extremely convenient to Pasadena’s best restaurants and shopping and we hope you had time to experience some of them.
We will share your feedback on our wine choices and again do appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience.
We do hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future when travel and time permits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    338
    99
    35
    18
See reviews for
212
189
48
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place. Everything is in walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The next time I’m in town, this will be my hotel of choice. However I must add you should check your bill at checkout. I’ve stayed here three times and two of the three times I had erroneous charges on my final bill. The staff was very good about removing them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manaboutwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. While our location is the best in Pasadena, our staff really makes the difference. I will make sure to share your positive comments with our team and please let me know personally if you experience and more difficulties with your billing.

Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a weekend of horse racing at Santa Anita. Hotel is centrally located, within walking distance of some fabulous restaurants, very comfortable hotel, and staff was wonderful. Assisted with all of our needs, including getting us into some great restaurants at the last minute. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafromscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks to you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Santa Anita is a great experience for those who have not been and we will be looking for some hot tips during your next visit. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed a Sunday through Thursday and this hotel was the BEST! He had business meetings in LA during the week while I played tourist exploring beautiful, historic Old Pasadena. Literally dozens of shops, restaurants, parks, movie theaters, etc all within walking distance! The room was large, comfortable, quiet and the staff was soooo friendly and helpful. The breakfast, bar and coffee shop in the lobby was more than sufficient. My husband travels extensively and says this hotel is his favorite in LA. I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaLiketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It certainly sounds like you had a good chance to experience both our wonderful staff and all that Pasadena has to offer.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our hotel the perfect choice for business or pleasure. We will definitely share your positive experience with all of our team members. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Pasadena in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel, lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Secure covered parking garage. What an accommodating staff they gave us a few recommendations for lunch and dinner and even made the reservations for us. Everything is within walking distance in old downtown Pasadena.

We'd stay here anytime we're in Pasadena.

They even have a free breakfast however we didn't partake in it as we had plans for brunch downtown, otherwise I'd have gladly enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your story with us. Our location truly is the best Pasadena has to offer. We appreciate to positive comments and hope to have you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of four stayed here from March 28 - 30th and were blown away by the attention given to the guests. We checked in with a friendly, energetic staff (I wish I got his name) who engaged every member of the family especially our boys. That evening, Michael made sure to tell our boys about the Dance 4 xbox game and helped our techonologically challenged family navigate the equipment. He was there again the next evening and personally approached my 8 year old to ask if he needed anything.

So impressed - even my husband who is hard to please said these guys knew customer service.

Will definitely stay here again - the overall experience from the staff, accommodations and food were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agapitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you again for your kind words. Traveling with family can sometimes be challenging. I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and make it a fun trip for all. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday and Saturday night and so got the weekend rate by booking direct with Marriott - we felt the $99 was excellent value. Upon entering the hotel, the spacious lobby appeared very busy but check was very fast and efficient and very friendly. We then had to drive the car into the multi storey car park at the rear of the hotel (we chose self parking although valet parking is available). You drive up in the car park to the same level as your bedroom and then enter through a door that requires a room key and then walk along internal corridors to your room. Our bedroom was large, attractively decorated, very clean and well maintained with a king bed and a sofa bed. We had complimentary wifi in the room although there are several computers in an area of the lobby that worked well with fast internet connection. The spacious, airy, well maintained lobby had plenty of seating areas and also an area for breakfast (additional charge) and a coffee shop.

The hotel is in a perfect location for a short stroll to the main down town Colorado Street where the choice of restaurants is excellent and very varied. It is also a good location for a short drive to Universal Studios, Warner Brothers Studios and Griffith Park. How pleasant it was to be greeted upon our return each day with a friendly smile and a few words from the front desk.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk from the parking garage entry door to some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your experience you had at our hotel! You said it perfect! Your kind words are appreciated! Our location is very prime and located near many shops and restaurants. Our wonderful staff do all that we can to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#7 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Marriott
Pasadena Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing