We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing nice about this hotel is the lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only thing nice about this hotel is the lobby”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I think this hotel has so much business it doesn't care about the guests. Hotel rooms are in need of renovation. And do not try to self park. Spaces are so small I could not get out of my car.
You have to pay for everything. No breakfast is included.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask where the room is. Coming in from the parking garage can be a long walk. Only adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaddieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay at our property. We take pride in ensuring that all of our guests are taken care of while in our hotel. We appreciate your suggestions and will take them into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    351
    104
    37
    18
See reviews for
217
193
50
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I just spend the weekend at the Courtyard Marriott in Pasadena. Our room was very clean and large. The staff treated us as if we were long lost relatives. Great experience. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In the morning I would recommend the omelets. The chef makes us one of the best omelets I have had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are thrilled that both you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our property! Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about our staff. P.s. we love the omelets too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The reviews on Trip Advisor for this hotel were awesome. Everyone was right. It is an upscale Courtyard. There is a bar downstairs and lots of places to hang out with your friends or group. The price was very reasonable, especially since we paid up front and saved 20% and the best part is the location. You are walking distance to Old Pasadena. Lots of shopping, bars, restaurants and lots of ice cream places!! Definitely alot happening. We enjoyed walking around alot. What i loved especially about the room was that the a/c stayed constant throughout the night. Sounds silly but i hate waking up and being hot because the a/c shuts off in the middle of the night. I had a great night sleep. It was 8:30 and I had no idea! I would most definitely go back there if i get back to Pasadena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
That's excellent! We're are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here in our hotel and had opportunity to experience Old Town Pasadena to the fullest! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband forgot to ask for two beds while checking in. When I called down to change rooms I was told we couldn't because we had booked through Expedia. After a few minutes we received a call back from the front desk saying they would be able to accommodate the change. The room was really nice, clean, quite and spacious. The staff was really nice and friendly. My younger daughter even got a goody bag. The lobby has a great touch screen map that lists restaurants, shopping etc..pool and jacuzzi were nice too. Location was great, walking distance to all the shops, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Requested room facing pool to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We're glad that our front desk staff was able to accomodate your change and provide you with an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located if you want to visit Old Town Pasadena. We had a comfortable room on the sixth floor facing the mountains. The front desk representative was very professional and friendly. Thanks Elizabeth! The room was very clean and our visit was very pleasant. We would definitely come back to this Courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBandLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about our staff and hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Pasadena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently because we were on a business trip and the workshop we were involved in was being held there. Knowing now how fabulous the staff and service were, we would definitely choose to stay there again, either for business or personal reasons.

The manager, Tim, is an affable guy who has a fabulous team around him. Nothing was too much trouble and Felipe, Sandra and Walter were particularly helpful. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome and at home.

While it is true that decor-wise, the rooms are a little dated, it actually enhances the homeliness of this hotel and there's nothing lacking in comfort. Our room had everything we needed for our stay and we wanted for nothing.

Breakfast in the bistro was great and I can highly recommend the Daybreak one... YUM! Also, the chicken quesadillas are to die for!

All in all, a lovely stay at a reasonable price and you'd have to go a long way to beat the service.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the pool, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We love to hear how wonderful our guests feel while staying at our property and glad that you able to have a more than pleasurable experience. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a football weekend for the Rose Bowl. The rooms are comfortable but nothing special. The Courtyard bathroom design with tiny sink area outside toilet/bath room still does not work. Room was reasonable size and desk was nice. Bistro on first floor is a good breakfast solution and large lobby is accommodating for football fans. Pool area also good for mingling but pool itself is small. Workout room has a few treadmills, ellipticals and bikes and a set of dumbbells. Location is really convenient for old town and reasonable for Rose Bowl access through their transport system. Hotel would also be OK for business for a few days.

Room Tip: Recommend upper floor as first floor a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We value our guests opinions and greatly thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We hope to see you soon here in Pasadena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,356 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing