We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed October 11, 2007

I dont know what the last guy had against Southern California, but I always love to come here. It might be a little crowded but what places arent these days? The hotel was beautiful and the staff courteious and helpful. They were very good at giving directions and recomendations on where to eat and what to do in the area. The rooms were nice and comfy. All in all, it was a very nice place to stay and I would recomend it to anyone coming to the Pasadena area.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJohnsonNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    345
    103
    37
    18
See reviews for
215
191
50
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

If you have to go to Southern California, I am sorry, but if you can't get out of it and happen to be in Pasadena, this is a pretty decent place to stay. It is pretty easy to get to, there are about 18 Freeways nearby, they all have traffic, 24/7, but if you happen to be travelling at 4 AM, it only took me 25 minutes to and from LAX. The front desk was very nice, but here is a little tip....Don't valet your car, it cost a couple bucks extra ($15 vs. $13 for self parking), but the garage is connected to the hotel at each level, so I drove to level 6 and then simply walked right through a security door to my room, and it was the same when I left. While my friends had to call in advance to get their car downstairs (usually 10-15 minutes ahead of time) and wait for an elevator, I could easily come and go as I wanted. This is the reason we have driver's licenses!!! The room was pretty standard, no minibar, or keyboard for tv/computer usage, the bathroom was fine, soap, shampoo, etc. There was free internet access in the lobby, two computers, so go at off hours to print your boarding pass as you might run into people checking their Match.com profiles for hours during prime time. There was a nice seating area in the lobby with large TV's. I never saw anyone at the bar, but it looked decent. I only saw the restaurant during breakfast, which is a pay buffet, but it was fine. The neighborhood around the hotel is okay, a few homeless lurking, but nothing too bad. There is a shopping area in walking distance, with some medium to high end stores as well as numerous bars and nightclubs. The best part of the whole experience was running into Raj, from the 1970's show "What's Happening?" at the local CVS. Best of luck and "Escape from LA" as quick a you can.

  • Liked — Proximity to event I was attending.
  • Disliked — I had to be in LA.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marvingardens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul, minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Stayed over a long weekend, Friday, August 17th until Monday the 20th.

Extremely nice hotel and area. Very clean. Very good service. Nice size room. Free internet service was great. Supplied basic soap and shampoo and body lotion only which we thought was a plus. Comfortable beds and very nice pillows. Only one negative was the air conditioner which was extremely loud and could not be quieted so you couldn't use it if you wanted to sleep. Otherwise everything was very great. Tons of stuff to do within walking distance. The shopping was fun and some of the best restaurants we ate in were right near by. We got a good price too - under $150 per night over a weekend. Great view from our room of the mountains!

  • Liked — Proximity to my son's home and good restaurants.
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioner and lack of windows that opened.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rosecherlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,223 reviews
279 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,667 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard Old Pasadena and found it so pleasant. First, check in was great. They also gave you a little gift bag - chips, water, and granola bar! A nice touch. The rooms are nice - ours had a lar ge couch, was on the first floor, and really easy to get to the swimming pool. The pool and spa were enjoyable. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet in the morning - reasonable prices for a hotel and nice breakfast. They are currently upgrading areas in the hotel so the place will be even better in the future. Walkable distance to many of the great spots in Pasadena. If you plan to go to Pasadena, this place would make for a good stay. Easy to get to freeways and other areas if you want to stay at the hotel for a base to see other sites in Los Angeles. We found it easy to drive to various areas...and on our week-end went to Hollywood, Long Beach, Anaheim, and Buena Park.

  • Liked — Pool and Spa
  • Disliked — Nothing (they were doing an upgrade of hotel....so perhaps that, but overall nice stay
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Our family stayed at this hotel for the weekend. We were in California for a family wedding. We had the most wonderful stay.
The staff were so friendly and more than helpful. The rooms were very clean. At the moment they are renovating parts of the hotel but this didn't affect us at all. Restaurants and shopping only a short walk away. We are already thinking about the next time we will stay there.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena for 4 nights in early July, the 6th to the 9th. The front desk was fantastic, they were extremely friendly and willing to please. Upon request they sent a mini fridge and microwave up to our room - it arrived less than 15 minutes after we asked if they had something available. The room was spotless, housekeeping does a great job! The pool is nice, not huge but adequate. It was easy to get a chair beside the pool, especially during the day. The hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from the main shopping street - Colorado. The breakfast buffet has a lot of different choices including an omelette bar. The hotel was renovating while we were there, we didn't care because the staff at the hotel were so friendly and pleasant and we didn't notice any extra noise at all from the renovations - they were doing the wallpaper in the hallway on our floor. We would definately stay at this hotel again!! It is the friendliest Marriott we have ever stayed at!!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank azure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

When I initally read reviews about this hotel I was def. worried about the room. The location of the hotel is perfect! It is within walking distance of everything.....restaurants, great shopping and bars. The room is was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The pool was a bit on the small side, but there were plenty of chairs so you didn't have to worry about saving them. I'm not sure why people had a gripe about the hotel - it's a courtyard marriott - not a four seasons! It's not a luxury hotel....if you want a four or five start hotel - stay at the ritz carlton or the westin. This hotel has the basic amenties so you can't go there with staying there. FYI - they are currently doing some renovations in some of the rooms. You can hear some of the noise during the day, but they stop promptly around 5PM and don't start early in the morning. My husband and I like to sleep in and we weren't woken up by any noise. For the value of your money, location and cleaniness, I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VANatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#8 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing