We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CLOSED in midweek”

Pacific Asia Museum
Ranked #15 of 62 things to do in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of this museum is to preserve, present and interpret the arts and culture of the Pacific Islands and Asia in order to promote appreciation of these cultures.
CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CLOSED in midweek”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Like everything else in Pasadena worth visiting, closed on Tusday. Just when had made special trip to city. There is a conspiracy to close things down all at once here, which has driven me away forever.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank k2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small collection”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Well-put together, tiny collection. There's just not that many notable pieces, maybe one or two Buddhist images that were alright.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank infinita29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jam packed with history”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The art and artifacts tell stories that add to cultural and historical understanding. Beautiful some statues overwhelming in power and beauty. Smallish museum very near the Pasadena Museum of California art.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Curator's talk was very good”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We wandered around the museum which is small but has some great items and then attended a talk by one of the curators which featured two paintings and was, we found, very interesting. We were also provided with Starbucks coffee as part of the fee for the talk. The only disappointment was that, by the time we were leaving, a large part of the gift shop was closed. The small section which was open was excellent and included some small pieces of furniture which, to my non-expert eye, looked as if they might be pretty old.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pacific Asia Museum”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is not a small time museum. The have a huge collection of things worth seeing. We have been back at least six times and always enjoyed it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Asia Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Asia Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing