We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best patio in good weather”

La Grande Orange Cafe
Ranked #1 of 699 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Del Mar
Transit: Located along the light rail at the Del Mar Station.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best patio in good weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love the patio on a nice day. Sangria, Swordfish tacos, voila! Happy weekend. They also have an amazing brussel sprout salad (I swear) and the burger is quite good if you are not as adventurous.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_LA_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    169
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lunch today with mother and aunt (80's). Great margarita says mom. Coke in a bottle and coffee in a French press both excellent. Shared cheese burger and fries (better than McDonald's which until this posting were the best), salmon tacos on homemade tortillas with super guacamole and pico de gallo, and short rib hash with fried eggs. Oh and lest we forget key lime pie with inches of whipped cream with vegan strawberry gelato and a bowl of mint chip gelato which must have had an entire bar of chocolate chunks in it. It was enough for this vegan to not be a vegan for 2 hours. Best of all the gals got to take the train right to it. Am already planning my daughter's 21st birthday dinner with the family for June. Can't wait to try the rotisserie prime rib, you heard right. BTW the bestest part was the staff. Courteous, fun, attentive, just excellent. Oh and the cookies when you end your meal (sea salt, chocolate chip) and the homemade English muffins that I brought home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eilley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunchtime!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Lunch at La Grand Orange was quite nice. The ambiance was so relaxed. We got several different entrees and all shared so we could try different foods. The staff was friendly as a whole and the food great! I did request some differences a for my salad and had to send it back, but this was done is a timely manner. Food was fresh and tasty! Check it out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KandKevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
934 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 721 helpful votes
“California Freshness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I love the look and feel of the La Orange. It speaks to California and Pasadena in a very 1920s feel. It's unique in style and feel.
The menu too is unique one of my favorite things here are the deviled eggs. This is a menu item that you don't see a lot of on menus. You will find them on this menu and they are great!
I also like the olive oil cake here.
The place looks great, the service is good and the food is tasty - what more could you want?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quality, atmosphere, cost...all very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Dined at La Grande Orange Cafe last night for the first time. The wait staff were friendly, the food was very good and the prices were reasonable. I get to the Pasadena area a couple times a year for a few weeks, so I will definitely visit them again. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matunucktuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Orange Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Grande Orange Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing