We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the prettiest campus around but . . .”

California Institute of Technology
Ranked #8 of 61 things to do in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the prettiest campus around but . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

much nicer than I expected. We wandered around, had a coffee in one of the student union cafes and generally enjoyed the ambience. The flowers and other landscaping were nice, but some of the building were a little out of place (not the best mid-century examples). The original older buildings were very prototypical of California campuses of the early 20th century.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank susanbeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus, mecca of science”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I love to stroll along the olive walk. Ending at the Atheneum - a beautiful faculty club built 80 years ago. Great place for weddings if you have contacts. Outstanding scientific lectures during the academic year and a medly of artistic performances.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sealbeachtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great Speakers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

When I first moved to Pasadena I loved feeling like I was smart just because I was able to attend some of the lectures and understand what they were talking about. The school as a whole has a beautiful campus and is very welcoming to the community.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarketingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely buildings and campus in Pasadena. Home of many Nobel Laureates and the Seismographic Laboratory seen on TV after earthquakes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus -- Brilliant Lectures --”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

A small school, beautiful campus. Quiet and serene.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TikiTownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Institute of Technology also viewed

 

Been to California Institute of Technology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing