We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cost-benefit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Pasadena
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located minutes away from old town Pasadena, major freeways, grocery, banking, post office, pharmacy and anything one may need.
Hotel is pretty good. Offers free parking, free breakfast (small area but nonetheless good).
Upkeep of the hotel is the only thing that prevents me from giving it a 5-star rating. Nothing major but there were some items in our room that could use a bit more care.
Hotel is clean (cleaning staff is awesome), with very helpful front desk staff, making the cost-benefit excellent in this place.
Room is right sized - not big but not small either.
If you're located in the ground floor (1st), you may experience some noise but not a lot that would disturb your sleep

Room Tip: I would try 2nd or 3rd floors and not facing Colorado Blvd (unless you want to see the Rose Bowl).
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbonfieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Pasadena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 801 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rodolfo O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked this place when visiting LA for Universal Studios. This is an older property. Nothing great to write about. You can see the oldness in the bathroom areas etc.

The breakfast is pretty basic.

If you are looking for a no frills place at a reasonable place, then this is the place. We booked two rooms as we were two families and were able to get two connected rooms on the 2nd floor. The building is split into two sides and this side does not have elevators. But as it just the second floor, it was ok.

There are limited parking spots, so not sure for what happens if the hotel is fully booked. We did not have any issues though for the two nights we stayed as there were few more spots vacant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It took me forever to find a hotel in the Los Angeles area that was comfortable, wasn't too far out, wasn't run down, had transit access, was in a safe area, and had a decent price. The Howard Johnson Pasadena fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel (motel technically) is located on Colorado Ave (Pasadena's "main street") right across from Pasadena City College's attractive campus, and is also near a number of shops, restaurants, and banks (Panda Express, Starbucks, Wells Fargo, Jack in the Box, Burger King, etc). Don't expect anything too "high end" though. The best thing (for me anyways) was that the hotel was only a 10-15min walk from the Allen Gold Line light rail station. Each day of my stay I would return from LA on the Gold Line at night around 9-10pm, and I felt safe walking from the station to the hotel.

The rooms themselves were pretty nice. The Vizio TV looked new and was a decent size, although I never watched it. The room, fridge, microwave, and bathroom were very clean, although there was a bracelet on the floor beside the bed when I checked in (presumably left by the previous guest). All of the many lights and lamps, as well as the microwave and heat/AC, worked properly. The king size bed was comfortable, although a little firmer and lower than what I would expect at a higher end hotel, but I slept fine on it.

My one complaint, is that the walls seemed pretty thin. I could sometimes hear the TV and voices from one of the adjacent rooms, and it didn't sound like the TV volume was maxed or that they were yelling. Fortunately, the sound was muffled and it was never for an extended period of time. I can imagine it being more of a pain though with very loud neighbors staying up well past midnight.

Overall, I would rate this hotel as excellent. It was definitely the best "motel-type" hotel I've ever stayed in. It also looked like it was a significant step up from the other motels further down Colorado Ave away from the city, but with similar pricing and in a much nicer area.

Room Tip: I was offered the choice between the 1st and 4th floor (the top floor). At motels with doors directl...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night as an alternative to the more expensive Beverly Hills area. Pasadena turned out to be much more to our likening and we enjoyed the hotel as well. Rooms are a bit old, but have what you need. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, ironing board, tv and free wifi, although in our room the signal was too weak. Had to stand in the hallway to get decent reception. Apart from that we were happy. So if you do not mind to drive the few extra miles to Pasadena, this is a good place to stay and to explore some more relaxed citylife!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nicely furnished modern, clean room. Bedding is very comfortable with down comforter. Top quality room at an extremely reasonable price for the area. Other comments - small parking lot for hotel and breakfast was fair. Would definately stay here again, the room was pleasant to be in and great night sleep.

Room Tip: 4th Floor room was quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inoque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.4 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,395 reviews
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Pasadena

Address: 1599 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91106 (Formerly Westway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range: $112 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Howard Johnson Pasadena proudly sports 60 guest rooms, 18 of which are suites that overlook Colorado Blvd, a perfect location to view the annual Rose Parade. Directly across from the Pasadena City College, we are a stone's throw away from Cal Tech campus and Huntington Library Botanical Garden, and less than two miles away from Old Town Pasadena, Civic Center Auditorium, a short drive away from the Rose Bowl, and Santa Anita Park race track. Enjoy the beauty of Pasadena through easily accessible dining, entertainment, and shopping districts. Check-in time - 2pm Check-out time - 11am Guests must be 18 years or older with a valid government I.D. and Credit Card to check-in. Hotel Amenities: Free WiFi internet access, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Elevator, Cable TV, Pool and Spa, Suites include sitting area with couch and coffee table, Walking proximity to various restaurants, lounges, and bars, Perfect location for visiting campuses or attending graduation, Conference room, Local Attractions: •Pasadena City College --PCC-- 0 Miles •California Institute of Technology --Cal Tech-- 0.1 Miles •Huntington Library Art Gallery and Botanical Gardens - 0.3 Miles •Old Town Pasadena - 1.5 Miles•Pasadena Civic Center Auditorium / Convention Center - 1.5 Miles •Rose Bowl - 2.5 Miles •Santa Anita Park Race track - 5 Miles •Dodgers Stadium - 8 Miles •Downtown Los Angeles - 10 Miles •Staples Center - 12 Miles •Universal Studios Hollywood - 16 Miles •Beverly Hills - 20 Miles •Santa Monica Pier - 25 Miles •LAX - 28 Miles •Disneyland - 36 Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westway Hotel Pasadena
Westway Inn Pasadena
Westway Motel Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing