We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Pasadena
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just before the end of the summer, I brought my whole family to Southern California for vacation and stayed at the Howard Johnson Pasadena for about five nights in the suite. The whole suite has been renovated and the bathroom is really spacious with sit down shower. The overall experience was great and highly recommended for family vacation because the location is really great to get to places in LA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    308
    161
    57
    28
See reviews for
275
153
69
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washgirl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Came to Pasadena for a running event at the Rose Bowl. This hotel is 4 miles from there and it is very easy to get to the Rose Bowl from here. It is right across the street from the college and within walking distance of many places to eat, shop, get coffee and banks. (Don't eat at Big Mama's they use to be the best now it was very sad....) My only issue with the hotel is that they didn't mark down our late check out. I didn't realize what he was telling me to do is for ME to come in the morning and pass that info along. So if you want late check out besure to stop at front desk in the morning. Although they were kind and didn't charge more. Breakfast was basic but good. Pool area is clean and usable. Very kid friendly hotel too and they accept pets!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windowashgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Opposite City College in Pasadena, on Colorado Blvd, this Hotel has an excellent location. The Huntington Library is a 15-20 minute walk away, old Pasadena and the Norton Simon Museum a short bus ride away (the bus stop is right outside the Hotel) and the Gamble House is a bus ride then 5 minute walk away.
I stayed in room 217, which was very quiet. The room was large and very clean, with a built in closet, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, desk and a table with 2 chairs. The bed was extremely comfortable. There was no safe. The bathroom was modern and spacious, with a particularly large shower recess with a built-in bench.
The free breakfast was excellent with cereal, pastries, toast, waffles and fruit. The service at the front desk was helpful and friendly. I was able to borrow an umbrella for my 3 day stay, and store my luggage on the last day. I was able to check into my room early.
The hotel has an elevator and a small pool area.
I would recommend this hotel as a very good value option for anybody staying in Pasadena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fascinatingrhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wlimore, KY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while doing some sight-seeing in the Los Angeles area and it served us well as a "home base" during that time. The breakfast is basic (if you have special dietary needs, bring your own food), but sufficient. The beds are very comfortable (pillow-top) and the room was very clean. We felt very safe on the second floor with exterior access (elevator was helpful). Free parking and free-wifi were great as well. I agree with previous reviewers -- this is not your typical "Hojo" experience. We chose this hotel based upon the TripAdvisor reviews we had read and were not disappointed. Pasadena was a lovely area and we enjoyed driving back to this "suburb" after all the crazy traffic in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff, comfortable and clean room. Free breakfast, free fast wifi. This is not your usual HoJo's. Would stay here again without question. The staff were also very accommodating, printing and scanning some documents I needed sent. All in all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The breackfast is too repetitive, but the ubication is very good, i prefer stay in pasadena its too quiet than los angeles. No charge for parking and is near from everywhere. You have to reserve because its to busy, no vacancy any time. De verdad es muy acogedor el hotel y hay restaurantes cerca para no preocuparse

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in a suite that comfortably slept 4. A free breakfast, free wi-fi, clean rooms & ample parking are a plus! Staff is welcoming/attentive adding to a great time. Just minutes from shopping/dining, this hotel is a gem in Pasadena.

Room Tip: Book a 2 bed/1 bath suite instead of two rooms - comfortably sleeps 4 with separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
1.8 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#12 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Pasadena

Property: Howard Johnson Pasadena
Address: 1599 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91106 (Formerly Westway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Howard Johnson Pasadena proudly sports 60 guest rooms, 18 of which are suites that overlook Colorado Blvd, a perfect location to view the annual Rose Parade. Directly across from the Pasadena City College, we are a stone's throw away from Cal Tech campus and Huntington Library Botanical Garden, and less than two miles away from Old Town Pasadena, Civic Center Auditorium, a short drive away from the Rose Bowl, and Santa Anita Park race track. Enjoy the beauty of Pasadena through easily accessible dining, entertainment, and shopping districts. Check-in time - 2pm Check-out time - 11am Guests must be 18 years or older with a valid government I.D. and Credit Card to check-in. Hotel Amenities: Free WiFi internet access, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Elevator, Cable TV, Pool and Spa, Suites include sitting area with couch and coffee table, Walking proximity to various restaurants, lounges, and bars, Perfect location for visiting campuses or attending graduation, Conference room, Local Attractions: •Pasadena City College --PCC-- 0 Miles •California Institute of Technology --Cal Tech-- 0.1 Miles •Huntington Library Art Gallery and Botanical Gardens - 0.3 Miles •Old Town Pasadena - 1.5 Miles•Pasadena Civic Center Auditorium / Convention Center - 1.5 Miles •Rose Bowl - 2.5 Miles •Santa Anita Park Race track - 5 Miles •Dodgers Stadium - 8 Miles •Downtown Los Angeles - 10 Miles •Staples Center - 12 Miles •Universal Studios Hollywood - 16 Miles •Beverly Hills - 20 Miles •Santa Monica Pier - 25 Miles •LAX - 28 Miles •Disneyland - 36 Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westway Hotel Pasadena
Westway Inn Pasadena
Westway Motel Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing