We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old on the outside, good on the inside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Old on the outside, good on the inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The outside of the place - and the interior hallways - look as if nothing has been done to the place in 30 years or more. (Also, you use an old-fashioned key to get in.) My room was nice, though. The bed was big and comfortable, the mini-fridge was a nice size, the wi-fi worked (though I think my room was closed to a hot spot) and I had good water pressure in the shower. Most of the expected amenities at this class were present. A few oddities: the outlet in the bath is opposite from the mirror, which can be clumsy for shaving; the windows have slat blinds instead of shades; and the only ice machine is across from the front desk. One potential bummer: the heater can set off the smoke alarm. And the continental breakfast really isn't much to speak of. Overall, though, decent value.

Room Tip: Try to get on an upper floor, towards the back (and near a hot spot!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slsiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    117
    48
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
77
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked a room here for my parents while they were in town for a week, and spent quite a bit of time here myself. I came by before they arrived and asked about checkin/checkout times, as well as being able to drop some things off for them before checkin. The front staff was polite and courteous, and very helpful. The room was immaculate and comfortable - 4 of us hung out to watch sports a few nights on the HDTV and it was great. There was a fridge in the room, which was good for leftovers and water (SoCal is a desert after all). The pool area was clean and comfortable, and we hung out there as well. It is on Colorado Ave, so it can get busy (our room was facing Colorado), but overall at night it was pretty quiet. Saga is convenient to several eateries and bus stops as well. Mainly I chose Saga because the internet rate was the best one at the time (80/night) and it is 2 blocks from my apartment, so it was easy for my parents to get back and forth. Overall I would recommend Saga for any length of stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveleranon330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We needed to stay in Los Angeles for a few days before our flight home but didn't want to stay in the main tourist areas. We picked Pasadena and were sorry that we hadn't allowed more time to see the town.
The Saga Motel is conveniently located on East Colorado Boulevard, just opposite the City College. They do a fairly simple continental breakfast (cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, tea/coffee), the rooms were clean, nice and large and we could receive free wifi in our room. They have a nice pool if you want to cool down. There are a few nearby places within walking distance to eat and drink (including the excellent Lucky Baldwins Trappiste). We weren't driving but the motel is only about a 15 minute walk from Allen Station on the Gold Line, with fast and frequent trains into Pasadena and Los Angeles.
It's not far by train, bus or car into Pasadena Old Town which is well worth exploring. If we ever have to stay in Los Angeles again, we'll happily stay at the Saga again - and allow more time to explore Pasadena, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't expect luxury here. But you can expect good value for money, spotlessly clean rooms, a decent little complimentary breakfast in reception, plenty of parking space and a helpful and friendly front desk. The hotel is easy to find on Colorado Blvd opposite Pasadena City College. A block and a half and five minutes' walk away is an excellent British-style pub called Lucky Baldwin's which specialises in high quality American and European tap beers, serves decent food and is staffed by pleasant people. We found the hotel was ideal as a jumping off point for Universal City, which we got to in about 45 minutes through the LA rush hour by taking a route tip from reception, and got back from in about 30 minutes pretty much as the crow flies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandelaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angelse, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hello. Two grandparents, two parents and one baby (one year old). I'm giving this place a thumbs up. Rooms were big. Has stairs and elevators. Plenty of parking for your car. Pretty easy access to the freeways. Breakfast is cereal, pastries, unlimited coffee and juice and happy service. Pools looks great. Many, many food options and a short drive to old town. Do-it-yourself laundry. And...a 99 Cent store a block away! How fun is that?! Coffee shops, Target, antique shopping, 20 minute drive (with no traffic) to Downtown LA, etc... As for Disney or Universal...sure...depending on when you drive...not a problem. Thanks to Lori and her team. Very accomdating, helpful and insightful. We would stay again and would advise others to do the same. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCal_Shiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a night in this historic motel after visiting WB studios. It is a famous route 66 motel. Free wi-fii and breakfast. 24 hour free hot water and tea in the reception area. Rooms were not ultra new of course but spacious and clean. No complaints about noise levels. Close to CalTech, we actually walked there ( takes about 20 minutes). Very good restaurants, coffee shops and chain fast food restaurants within walking distance. There is also a pool, we did not use it though we had breakfast in the pool area which was very nice. Free parking. 5 minutes to downtown Pasadena by car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzgurRosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
403 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable . The pool looked so inviting but we were always getting back late . It would have been great to spend a relaxing afternoon beside the pool . Other guests all seemed to be very friendly as if we were all transported back to the heyday of route 66 . Our room still looked as I imagine it did decades ago , but it was clean and well maintained . They even had a slip of paper to write anything you wanted to bring to their attention . The maids were great and did a wonderful job . Front desk people were also very helpful .
I loved that there were people walking out on the streets until at least 11 . It made me feel safer . There are quite a few fast food joints close by and the 210 freeway was minutes away . Downtown LA and Hollywood are less than half an hour drive . This area felt as though it was a small town with everything you need within reach .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Property: Saga Motor Hotel
Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saga Motor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing