We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run and well positioned.”
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't expect luxury here. But you can expect good value for money, spotlessly clean rooms, a decent little complimentary breakfast in reception, plenty of parking space and a helpful and friendly front desk. The hotel is easy to find on Colorado Blvd opposite Pasadena City College. A block and a half and five minutes' walk away is an excellent British-style pub called Lucky Baldwin's which specialises in high quality American and European tap beers, serves decent food and is staffed by pleasant people. We found the hotel was ideal as a jumping off point for Universal City, which we got to in about 45 minutes through the LA rush hour by taking a route tip from reception, and got back from in about 30 minutes pretty much as the crow flies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandelaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Saga Motor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hello. Two grandparents, two parents and one baby (one year old). I'm giving this place a thumbs up. Rooms were big. Has stairs and elevators. Plenty of parking for your car. Pretty easy access to the freeways. Breakfast is cereal, pastries, unlimited coffee and juice and happy service. Pools looks great. Many, many food options and a short drive to old town. Do-it-yourself laundry. And...a 99 Cent store a block away! How fun is that?! Coffee shops, Target, antique shopping, 20 minute drive (with no traffic) to Downtown LA, etc... As for Disney or Universal...sure...depending on when you drive...not a problem. Thanks to Lori and her team. Very accomdating, helpful and insightful. We would stay again and would advise others to do the same. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCal_Shiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a night in this historic motel after visiting WB studios. It is a famous route 66 motel. Free wi-fii and breakfast. 24 hour free hot water and tea in the reception area. Rooms were not ultra new of course but spacious and clean. No complaints about noise levels. Close to CalTech, we actually walked there ( takes about 20 minutes). Very good restaurants, coffee shops and chain fast food restaurants within walking distance. There is also a pool, we did not use it though we had breakfast in the pool area which was very nice. Free parking. 5 minutes to downtown Pasadena by car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzgurRosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable . The pool looked so inviting but we were always getting back late . It would have been great to spend a relaxing afternoon beside the pool . Other guests all seemed to be very friendly as if we were all transported back to the heyday of route 66 . Our room still looked as I imagine it did decades ago , but it was clean and well maintained . They even had a slip of paper to write anything you wanted to bring to their attention . The maids were great and did a wonderful job . Front desk people were also very helpful .
I loved that there were people walking out on the streets until at least 11 . It made me feel safer . There are quite a few fast food joints close by and the 210 freeway was minutes away . Downtown LA and Hollywood are less than half an hour drive . This area felt as though it was a small town with everything you need within reach .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for two nights while visiting local colleges. It's a very groovy Route 66 50s-style motor hotel. Had an actual metal key for the doors, even!! Front desk staff were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. Breakfast area was very clean. Continental breakfast basic, but did the job. No coffee/tea in rooms, but easily available (hot water, anyway) from front desk (I like herbal tea at night). Room wasn't cleaned until quite late, and I found some random things in the room that were left from previous tenants--ick. But it is a super location, and the price cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgonagallmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were desperetaly looking for a CLEAN,budget friendly place in Pasadena, Ca after a terrible experience at one of the chain name Hotels in Colorado Avenue, more on that later.
When we came in to the lobby we knew we got lucky! Very clean, we were greeted warmly and very courteously by the receptionist we asked to see the rooms and were promptly given a key, we liked the place inmediately; the hotel provides excellent quality toiletries,free continental breakfast, free washer/dryer A+ nice and clean and well mantained grounds and pool plus the cleaning staff is superb...we will come back to The Saga Motor Motel in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soroco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very good. Good location. Very Clean.

Two minuses. A very slow internet connection. Lack of safe in the room for your valuables.

But very pretty in an old charming 50s way. So if these two things are not a bother to you, you do not need look for more.

Room Tip: Generally quiet place. I like pool rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontheroadagain3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,234 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,395 reviews
1.8 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $122 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing