We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip”
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went back for a night. We were going to the Knife Expo. It was a surprise trip for my husband. I called and made reservation. Melodee at the front desk was very nice. I think this hotel is a gem!!! So is Melodee, she is very nice and friendly. We had a lovely trip and will go back again!

Room Tip: We were in 109- downstairs- was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4ChellyL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 296 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for five nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful, almost felt like family. We had a large clean room. Quiet so good sleep. Free laundry. Very nice pool and sitting area. Excellent wireless internet connectivity. The room was perhaps not luxurious, but was very comfortable and spacious. Location for us was very convenient.

Room Tip: Check out room 222, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This inn is located right across from the Pasadena City College; we stayed during the weekend so we did not encounter much student activity, if there is ever any. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the college, right next to the elevator. We did not hear any noise from the elevator. The room was large, clean and comfortable, and the grounds were will maintained with numerous plants, shrubs and at least a dozen tall to very tall palm trees. The neighborhood is a combination of business and residential, with most of the business located on Colorado Blvd. We had a few hours of free time so walked Colorado Blvd, and if you are into local businesses, you will enjoy your walk, as we did.

The staffs are quite friendly, helpful and provide invaluable advice on things Pasadena. The breakfast is a combination of dry cereals, fruits, pastries, teas (choices: from herbal to whatever) and, my favorite, coffee. The coffee and teas are available 24/7, so if you are overcome by the desire for tea at 2AM, you are in luck. If the breakfast area is crowded, no problem, Saga provides trays for you to carry your food to the pool area, where there are tables, or, to your room. Just clean up after you are done with your breakfast.

Saga has an online offer which they claim is their lowest room price. But if you accept this offer you are restricted to certain rooms. We used this offer to book our room, and we enjoyed our room. Saga will always be our first choice, and we recommend Saga as the place to stay if one is looking for an affordable, quiet, clean place to stay in Pasadena.

Room Tip: Look up their online room rate, you may save a few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and i were coming down to Pasadena for the night and most of the hotels were booked or expensive due to Presidents weekend. Came across this online and liked the pics and reviews. The Saga was not expensive and had a good online special. Loved the way it looked when we pulled in, very 50-60's style sign and buildings. The lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful, she gave us a Pasadena booklet and restaurant ads to help us. She let us know about breakfast and what was nearby. It was cool getting a key instead of a plastic card. (I'm old enough to remember those). The pool was clean and beautiful with chairs all around. The room was very clean and nice, bed felt good, decent fridge and TV. From reviews i knew there'd be a book, sadly it was Joseph Wambaugh, but liked the idea of having books in the room. We just grabbed coffee and tea in the morning since we were headed up to Mary's in Sierra Madre, yes not a big selection, but its a small place and inexpensive, so its nice they even offer it. We would stay again, no problem!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

You have to view this part motel part hotel style establishment in the context of its building era. It is dated how could it be anything other? It is very clean, the beds are very comfortable, but cosy for 4!! In the 2 double room we were only 2 so it was fine. Hurrah the windows open and have fly screens, yes the air con is a bit noisy but it works. The rooms by today's standards are a little small, Flat screen TV. Large fridge and a microwave
No tea or coffee in the room, who cares you can get that in the lobby and half a city block away is Starbucks. And a new Bakery. Buses to Old Town and wherever else pass the door Not as expensive as other hotels which by the way have pretty poor Reviews in comparison. If you can remember the 50's it is great old movie style California style motel, it has been in several movies and on CSI
The staff are great. And work hard on the presentation of the rooms. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank may2tripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I chosed this hotel due to the proximity to Caltech and also by recommendation. It is an old but great hotel with cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. I stayed there almost a week without any problems but the only disadvantage is the breakfast that has very very limited choices. After the first few days, the breakfast became extremely boring. However, you can still find other shops nearby, anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umutayildiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I needed to travel to LA at the last minute for a funeral at Mt Sinai in Hollywood Hills. Being on a budget, this was the best value I found in the general area and with a very healthy rating among other hotels in Pasadena.

I was very pleasantly surprised when I pulled in. I did enjoy the retro feel and also the non-generic motel feel, too. The front desk (Lori and Roger) were very friendly when checking in, helpful when I asked traffic info on traveling to the service, and the next morning more than happy to make me a fresh cup of coffee at 12 p.m. after I woke up.

I was in Room 316 on the third floor. I requested a room away from the street and on the top floor, and was granted both. Just a double bed in the room, but it was just me and they were extra long, so even at 6-4, I fit. Bed was firm, yet comfortable.

It was a smaller room than I would usually expect in a cookie-cutter motel, but it was comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower, clean bed linens, flat screen TV, and a large fridge. I missed having a personal coffee maker in the room. I would highly recommend the owners add this inexpensive feature that most any traveler expects.

Excellent location! Very easy to find off the freeway. 20 minutes to Forest Lawn Hollywood Hills and Mt. Sinai, Pasadena City College across the street, any number of fast food and other restaurants within easy walking distance, and Starbucks and Wells Fargo next door. Plenty of free parking, too.

To back up other reviewers, yes the elevator is old, but I took the stairs every time after I brought up the suitcase. I would highly recommend staying on the third floor, because the floors are creaky in select spots. Stingy on pillows (only two). I went downstairs for two more.

My biggest complaint? For some unknown reason, the maintenance staff thought it would be perfectly fine to begin pounding on the hallway floor outside my room at 8:30 a.m. after a very long and emotional day the day before. This work could have easily been done later in the day, and I was a little irritated when I saw aforementioned maintenance people standing by their truck when I checked out at noon. Their day was over, and mine started horribly.

But that was a one-time thing. I would highly recommend the Saga for those on a budget, needing a clean place to crash, convenient to freeway and eateries, and wanting to experience the feel of Pasadena when Colorado Blvd was Route 66.

Room Tip: Request third floor room to avoid hearing floor squeaks. If you face the back, it is the quietest (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.4 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
0.6 mi away
Ramada Pasadena
Ramada Pasadena
#23 of 31 in Pasadena
601 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $113 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built 1957, the Saga Motor Hotel has been located on E. Colorado Blvd. (aka Route 66). The Saga is a boutique hotel with 70 guest rooms built around a large, heated pool and sun deck area in a garden setting surrounded by Palm Trees. In addition, the Saga is also located on the Tournament of Roses Parade route. While the Saga lets you step back in time to a day when actual keys were used to open hotel room doors and personalized service was common, we have all the “today” amenities you’d expect, including free, high-speed wireless service and cable television. We even have a business center, free computer services and small meeting room (in an informal and comfortable library setting) for groups of up to 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing