We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic staynon old Route 66 in Pasadena!”
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Classic staynon old Route 66 in Pasadena!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

firend recommended the Saga Motor Hotel becuase he knew how much we like vintage and hisotric hotels. The Saga did not disappoint! They even had real glasses in the rooms - "old school!!!"

It is suprising well maintained, well apointed and true to its style and time period while providing modern ameneties like Wi-Fi and free continential breakfast. Our room hands windows that opened which I always like!

The pool is swell and you are located right on Colorado Blvd across from Pasadena City College.

A comfortable place, a great base for exploring the cool stuff in Pasadena and very reasonable rates!

Room Tip: We had room #315 which over looked the pool - it was comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    130
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
56
87
45
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are locations where this Motor Hotel would seem overpriced but Pasadena isn't one of them. It's a 1950's place, which is a bonus for me, that is well maintained and in a great location right on Historic Route 66. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff quite friendly and helpful. Check their website for specials. I did and saved a few bucks by booking online.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights- room was quiet and clean. Across the street from Pasadena City College. Continental breakfast was nothing fancy, but fine. Free parking. Nice pool area. 2 nights for the price of one compared to other hotels in Pasadena. Will stay there again when in town. Looks like the Rose parade passes by this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Based on the reviews on this site and several others I paid for 4 nights at this hotel 2 weeks ago. Everything was exactly as described in the other interviews and I was very satisfied with my stay ... UNTIL ...

Until one week after my return when I developed a case of scabies (this week) on my arms and legs! I noticed that the room had a chemical smell after hotel staff cleaned the room and I mentioned this to staff - now I wonder if the smell was insecticide ?

Definitely NOT recommended - at least until the hotel management reads this and alters their cleaning process for sheets and towels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DIane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in mid August for one night. The room was small but well decorated. It really feel like home. Very cozy, clean and at a great location. Their swimming pool looks really nice but we didni't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjdogydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago. Nice hotel for the price, good location. Walking distance to places to eat, and Starbucks. Staff was friendly and helpful. We went to the Norton Simon Museum, it is only 3 miles from hotel. We expect to go back soon, taking my sister and brother in law. There was an Asian Street Festival, so we took a cab, walked around, was a gorgeous night. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ChellyL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel/motel has a lot of charm and is ideally located if you have a car and intend to visit not only Pasadena but also Los Angeles: it is a twenty-minute ride to Universal studios or Griffith Park, and a thirty-minute ride to Hollywood (depending on traffic!) The pool area surrounded with palm trees is very pleasant. There is free wifi, free laundry machines and complimentary breakfast. The rooms have a charming 1950s' atmosphere. We would definitely warmly recommend this place to anyone visiting Los Angeles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,369 reviews
1.8 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Property: Saga Motor Hotel
Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing