We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overhyped” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Pasadena

Old Pasadena
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Small-Group Food Walking Tour Through Old Pasadena
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Pasadena is the downtown historic business district of Pasadena, a lively and diverse city located just ten miles from downtown Los Angeles. This eclectic old town area features entertainment and activities for kids and adults alike: museums, galleries, and music events, as well as movies, shopping, restaurants, and outdoor cafes. Families often stop by after sports events at the Rose Bowl; this clean and safe district is pedestrian friendly and provides convenient parking and easy access to public transportation, served by major bus lines and two Metro Gold Line stops.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is what passes for a quaint, traditional shop and restaurant neighborhood in the heart of Pasadena. I guess the buildings do look a bit quainter and more traditional here than in the rest of Pasadena, but that is not saying much. There are plenty of boutique shops, cell phone service and eating places in what is only about a four square block area. Worth a visit, I suppose, if you are staying in Pasadena, but certainly no reason to visit if you are staying somewhere else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    204
    50
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Simple Fun Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I vacation in the LA area often and like to visit Old Pasadena. It generally ends up with us simply walking up and down Colorado, ducking into stores that appeal to me wife, sampling some of the wonderful treats that appeal, and, when we're tired of walking and looking, dropping into any number of appealing restaurants along Colorado Blvd or off it a block or two.

Old Pasadena seems to be a very lively place late into the afternoon and then into the evenings. That is part of the fun. I won't suggest any particular restaurant but we've had memorable Italian dinners at the east end of Colorado.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fallfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic Upscale Cali Suburbia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice neighborhood. Intelligentsia coffee was a great find, Umami burger opening this week next door.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
349 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Awesome Shopping and Dining !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Kate Spade store - those gals are great ! Friendly and not stuck up!
Noodle World Restaurant - quick and easy comfort asian food, no fuss, sit down, and eat and leave for more shopping !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MLAbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I spent one afternoon in Old Town, on a sunny Sunday. I am from SoCal but had not been here before and had hear great things about O.T. But it was not what I expected...I expected more "vintage" shops & products. The only "Old" things about Old Town are the buildings. As other reviewers have said; there are pretty much all high-end, designer name shops. And the art was very,very expensive. But the restaurants, cafes and bars seemed pretty welcoming. I had great Mexican food at "El Toreo Cafe" on Fair Oaks Ave. Prepare to pay for parking and walk alot. I enjoyed driving around Old Town and seeing the other historic buildings and churches, the bridge, and the surrounding neighborhoods are very "California" (on the other side of the bridge the homes are large with beautiful grounds. North of O.T. the homes are nice older houses). I liked O. T., it just wasn't what I expected.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaCattygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Pasadena also viewed

 

Been to Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing