We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Programing is of interest”
Review of Pasadena Playhouse

Pasadena Playhouse
Ranked #14 of 62 things to do in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the Playhouse Making an Impact on the American Theatre Pasadena Playhouse is under the guidance of Artistic Director Sheldon Epps, whose commitment to cultural and theatrical diversity brings vitality and direction to the theatre. This commitment is reflected in seasons featuring Tony and Pulitzer award-winning plays as well as in outreach and artistic programs, which have doubled in size in the last two years.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Programing is of interest”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The place definitely has Old California Charm. We frequently travel for entertainment in the "LA area", and the Pasadena Playhouse is one of many theaters we go to (though not a complete list, our main sites are all the theaters at the LA Music Center, artsy movie theaters all around LA, El Portal Theater in NoHo, Broad Street theater in Santa Monica, OC Performing arts on occasion, and least frequently to Cerrritos Performing Arts). The Pasadena Playhouse definitely has shows of interest, including the recent Cirque Palooza 2 week extravaganza.

What the theater needs badly though is a refurbishing of the seats inside. They are completely cheezy and "squalorous"!

I still love it though, and it is still on my list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrJR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    9
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venue”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Built in the mid 20s, Pasadena Playhouse is a gem of design and comfort. From the art deco auditorium to the dramatic outdoor spaces, this place is worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rudynostalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Intimate Theater with history and class”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a gem of an old theater, with an awesome history and pedigree. It's struggled to keep local live theater alive, and deserves suppot. As an architectural and design piece, the place is worth visiting on its own, but go for a show!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drfertig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a Broadway quality theater that will rival the beauty of any of them. And there is a great restaurant right next door, so you don't have to go far. They put on really great shows. I have loved every one of them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MalibuAgoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review based on actual playhouse not the play”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is impressive. I loved the theatre. We were sitting in the back but still had a great view. Our play was not great but still the building was great! Food trucks are out in front so make sure to be there with plenty of time if you want to buy food because there are long lines. Food truck food is worth it though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maritza_Cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasadena Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Pasadena Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing